Various artists album review
Reggae Free Mumia
Without Apology Music
23 - 03 - 2000

Tracking list

  1. Big Mountain - Right To Live
  2. Don Carlos & Gold - Strictly Culture
  3. The Revelations - Rebel Music
  4. Ras Shiloh & Jah Soldiers - Set Him Free
  5. Foundation - Nah Believe
  6. Sister Carol - Shackles
  7. Clinton Fearon & Boogie Brown Band - What A System
  8. John Brown's Body - Fight Dem A Fight
  9. Wadi Gad - Wanted Man
  10. The Heartical Crew - Free Mumia
  11. Horace Ferguson - Great Stone
  12. Natty Remo & Cool Breeze - Wrong Babylon
  13. Tena Stelin - Freedom
  14. Jah Warrior - Liberation Dub
  15. Fire This Time - Assata Shukur...Free Mumia
  16. Brian Jordan - Set Him Free Dub
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 4

Reggae Free Mumia is a compilation featuring songs by a vast array of reggae artists from across the globe, specifically livicating their works to one of the most courageous African-American political prisoners, Mumia Abu-Jamal. This prominent radio journalist and politcal activist is on death row awaiting execution - despite evidence of witness tampering and prosecutorial misconduct. The lyrics and music on this album represent an outcry for justice, peace and liberation, delivered by soulful reggae artists. These artists have come together, contributing their work in an effort to take stand against politics that try to suffocate and crush the human spirit.
Big Mountain opens the album with a superb cut - Right To Live, one of the best tunes they ever recorded ! Rootsmen Don Carlos and Gold are featured here with a track from the past, the beautifull Strictly Culture. Ras Shiloh lays down an emotional outcry entitled Set Him Free, whilst Foundation delivers a convincing protest song and Sister Carol uses the 'Unchained' riddim for her excellent tune Shackles.
Clinton Fearon's contribution is the titlte track of his latest album, What A System. Wadi Gad delivers one of the emotional highlights of the album - Wanted Man. Horace Ferguson is present here with a digital tune Great Stone. Next comes another highlight of the album - Natty Remo's Wrong Babylon. UK based rootsman Tena Stelin comes up with Freedom, followed by its dub Liberation Dub from Jah Warrior.
The liner notes of the album include Mumia Abu-Jamal's interview with Bob Marley, conducted prior to Mumia's incarceration. Proceeds from the sale of Reggae Free Mumia will be donated to Mumia's legal defense fund.
For more information about Mumia Abu-Jamal, visit these two sites : www.mumia.org and www.walrus.com/~resist.

Teacher & Mr. T.