Various artists album review
Reggae Mania Vol. 1 ~ The Ultimate Reggae Experience
Jamdown Records

Tracking list

  1. Intro
  2. Half Pint - Bless Us
  3. Anthony B - Jah Be For Me
  4. Bling Dawg - It's My Turn
  5. Tyrical - Look To Di East
  6. Delly Ranks - God Bless Pickney
  7. Bounty Killer & Sugar Minott - Dem A Lie
  8. Jah Cure - Who Is Gonna Fight
  9. Chrisinti - Run Away
  10. Singing Sweet - Dash A Fire
  11. Anthony B - Death Wish
  12. Capleton & Tyrical - Source Of Life
  13. Andrew D - Intro
  14. Galaxy P - Can't Stop Us Now
  15. Razah - Fiesta
  16. Rally Bopp - Rally Wid Di Bopp
  17. Major Christie - Just Friends
  18. Spragga Benz - Spin Yu Roll
  19. Sizzla - Di Girls Dem
  20. Shabba Ranks - Money Is A Muss
  21. Lexxus - Come In A Mi Room
  22. Capleton - Woman Turn Mi On
  23. Beenie Man - Mi Know Mi Self
  24. Mr. Vegas & Tyrical - Touch Me, Tease Me
  25. Tyrical - Curriculum
  26. Singing Sweet - Dem A Evil
  27. Jah Mason - Take Me To Another Place
  28. Bounty Killer & Tyrical - Dem Bow
  29. Spin Yu Roll Mega Mix
  30. Outro
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4

Jamdown Records has launched a brand new series of MegaMix releases entitled "Reggae Mania ~ The Ultimate Reggae Experience". Here's the first volume and again one is treated to another good 'continuous mix' set from this label, which has definitely mastered the art of the reggae dancehall megamix since the label emerged some six years ago. "Reggae Mania Vol. 1" features the production work of Colin "Lenky" Johnson and Noel Williams of New York's "2 Shy Entertainment", the record label that caused a real stir with their Austin Powers' inspired Ragga/MOR hybrid called "Shag-A-Delic".
After the intro by Rally Bopp the musical assault starts with Half Pint's solid "Bless Us" over the wicked "Sela" riddim. The riddim is utilized five more times with Anthony B's "Jah Be For Me", Tyrical's "Look To Di East" and Delly Ranks' "God Bless Pickney" being the best efforts. The "Endorsement" riddim is next. It's an attractive slow-paced musical backdrop which generates five-star performances from every one of the artists who delivers a cut for the riddim. Personal favourites are Jah Cure's "Who's Gonna Fight", Singing Sweet's surprisingly strong conscious tune "Dash A Fire" and Capleton's awesome "Source Of Life". The vibe changes completely when the "Thunderstorm" riddim takes over. It's the least appealing bashment selection on this CD, although one might enjoy Razah's rendition of R. Kelly's "Fiesta". The next riddim - "Spin Yu Roll" - is pure, dutty hardcore. Worth hearing are Shabba Ranks' "Money Is A Muss" and Beenie Man's "Mi Know Mi Self". Capleton's "Woman Turn Mi On" incorporates girls' lyrics reminiscent of his work back in the late eighties and sometimes he even quotes from some of his old hits. The combination Mr. Vegas & Tyrical delivers a nice tune entitled "Touch Me, Tease Me" across an uncredited riddim track, which is followed by a wicked bashment selection for the "Hemp" riddim. Included are great efforts from Jah Mason - "Take Me To Another Place" - and Bounty Killer & Tyrical -"Dem Bow" -, while Singing Sweet's vocal cut "Dem A Evil" is also a notable piece and very enjoyable to hear.
Jamdown Records' "Reggae Mania Vol. 1" contains some enjoyable riddim tracks and nuff great tunes to make this set well worth checking out.

Teacher & Mr. T.