Sly & Robbie And Spicy Chocolate Present The Reggae Power 2
Taxi Records / Tuff Gong International
Digital Release
December 6, 2015

Track list
  1. Skip Marley - Life
  2. Ozomatli - Affinity
  3. Morgan Heritage - You
  4. Maxi Priest - Give It To Me Baby
  5. Demarco - Beautiful Feeling
  6. Romain Virgo - Dancing In Love
  7. Beenie Man & Cherine Anderson - Missing Like Crazy
  8. T.O.K. - Feel So High
  9. Davin Di Dakta & JL - Ayo Ayo
  10. Shaggy - I Will Be There For You
  11. No Maddz - For Your Love
  12. Richie Stephens - Golden Heart
  13. Devonte & Tanto Metro - I Love You
  14. Richie Spice - Lay Back
  15. Loyal Flames - Make It
Rate this album!
Cast your vote below.

Essential -Votes: 0-
Very Good -Votes: 1-
Good -Votes: 1-
Average -Votes: 0-
Disappointing -Votes: 0-
A Waste Of Time -Votes: 0-

Total votes : 2
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 5 Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3
Last year's Grammy-nominated compilation album "The Reggae Power" was the result of a collaboration project the legendary riddim twins Sly & Robbie did with producers Spicy Chocolate, a popular musical trio based in Japan. Due to the success of that project, it wasn't a real surprise to see the release of a follow-up album from Sly & Robbie and Spicy Chocolate. Just like it predecessor, "The Reggae Power 2" features an impressive line-up of artists. Besides Beenie Man, T.O.K., and Romain Virgo, who were also part of the first compilation set, this star-studded second volume features established names like Morgan Heritage, Shaggy, Maxi Priest, Devonte & Tanto Metro, Richie Stephens and Richie Spice as well as talented upcomers such as No Maddz, Davin Di Dakta and Loyal Flames.

Bob Marley's grandson and Tuff Gong's newest artist, Skip Marley, also belongs to the group of artists who are trying to make a name for themselves in music business. He already drew attention with "Cry For Me", not only from the reggae massive but also from Sly & Robbie, who were eager to involve him in this project. "Life", which comes across a full sounding fresh riddim, shows why. Skip Marley delivers a great sounding conscious reggae tune that will certainly appeal to many reggae and music fans alike. After Skip Marley's "Life" the listener is treated to fourteen very well produced songs that touch the romantic side of life, although there are also a few efforts that deal with social issues and party vibes. None of the 15 tracks is a filler, and thus it's a real joy to listen to this collection from start to finish. In particular worth hearing are the aforementioned "Life" by Skip Marley, Morgan Heritage's "You", Maxi Priest's "Dancing In Love", No Maddz's "For Your Love", Richie Spice's superb "Lay Back", Loyal Flames' uplifting "Make It" and the infectious "Affinity" by Latin fusion kings, Ozomatli.

"Sly & Robbie And Spicy Chocolate Present The Reggae Power 2" is an entertaining album packed with songs that will appeal to a broad audience.