Various artists album review
The Best Of Reggae Platinum Volume 1
Run Things
11 - 05 - 1998

Tracking list

  1. Frankie Paul & Wayne Lonesome - Arcade tourist
  2. Danny Dread - Prayer
  3. Lamboghini - A who you are
  4. Wayne Lonesome - Trend setter
  5. Mad Cobra - Buff
  6. Elephant Man - Hold on strong
  7. Harry Todler - Mi gal
  8. Spragga Benz - Gooder than gold
  9. Hawkeye - Hey Roy
  10. Galaxy P. - Ain't no stopping
  11. Frankie Paul - Nobody
  12. Michael Buckley - One hundred ways
  13. Wayne Lonesome - Pan di riddim
  14. Wayne Lonesome - Lawnmower Shawn
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 3

Attention all dancehall massive and crew ! Artist/producer Wayne "Lonesome" Brown has put out a nice compilation album for dancehall juggling. Respected studio musicians Sly Dunbar, Doni Marshall, Computer Paul and Chris Merideth have laid the mostly full sounding riddims for up-and-coming artists as well as some established names. The CD opens strong with the first four tunes all done across the same appealing riddim. Then it's time for a more beat-driven riddim to take over in the next three tracks, being the more average outings on this set. The juggling continues with three tracks on a different riddim, before the last 4 songs are delivered across the very same riddim. Although not every cut is a winner this album contains enough solid tunes to make it worth checking out.

Teacher & Mr. T.