Various artists album review
Reggae Wrap !
15 - 05 - 1997

Tracking list

  1. Mr. Peck - Black man lives on
  2. Mr. Peck & Hii Fii - Red light
  3. Inglish - I love you
  4. Mr. Peck - Mama don't worry
  5. Hii Fii - Up up
  6. Daddy V - How long
  7. Inglish - Rise up
  8. Mr. Peck - Irie vibes
  9. Hii Fii - Oh my love don't go
  10. Mr. Peck - Nuff gal, part 2
  11. Daddy V & Inglish - Respect the rastaman
  12. Mr. Peck, Hii Fii & Inglish - The peace song
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 2

This compilation album brings forward the skills and abilities of four promising singers and deejays out of western Jamaica heading for making a name in reggae music. If the material on this sampler is any indication the future certainly looks bright. The CD mainly contains message songs with a strong conscious vibe alongside a few lovers tunes. Most of the tunes are done over fresh and good sounding riddims, provided by some of the best musicians like Sly Dunbar, Danny "Axeman" Thompson and Dean Fraser. Our favorites include the combination Mr. Peck & Hii Fii with "Red light", Inglish's "Rise up", and Mr. Peck' s "Mama don't worry", which is laid over the killer "Heathen" riddim (courtesy of Barry O'Hare), one of 1996 most popular.

Teacher & Mr. T.