Various artists album review
Reggae Hits Volume 23
Jet Star
02 - 05 - 1998

Tracking list

  1. Beres Hammond - Hold on
  2. Everton Blender - Defender of the faith
  3. Sanchez - You are everything
  4. Beenie Man & ARP - Storm (on & on)
  5. Wayne Wonder - Searching dem searching
  6. Spragga Benz - We nuh like
  7. Ghost - Bodyguard
  8. Carlton Livingston & Shabba Ranks - Rumours
  9. Sizzla - Be strong
  10. Anthony B. - Damage
  11. Harry Todler - Bad man nuh dress like girl
  12. Spragga Benz - Rally back
  13. Capleton - Raggy road
  14. Screwdriver - God and king
  15. Kashief Lindo - Let me give you love
  16. Ernest Wilson - Let true love be
  17. Singing Melody - Play no more
  18. Glamma Kid - Big ting
  19. Beenie Man & ARP - Missing you
  20. L.U.S.T. - Sweetness of your love
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4/5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4

The legacy continues.. Jet Star's "Reggae Hits" series is without doubt the longest running compilation series in the reggae business and it surely has proven to be a winning formula throughout the many years of its existance. As usual the compilers of this 23rd volume have done a good job as they have gathered the hottest licks from various movements in reggae music. Whether it is roots & culture, lovers rock or dancehall music, you can find a decent specimen on this wicked compilation. This set showcases the established skills of mainstays like Beres Hammond, Sanchez, Ernest Wilson and Beenie Man as well as the budding talents of newcomers like Ghost, Singing Melody, Anthony B. and Sizzla. It brings you reggae's finest vocalists, musicians and producers in one place. We agree with Jet Star's statement that "this is definitely the most economical way to get the best entertainment without the hard search". Excellent contemporary stuff, no weak track to be found. Check it out and enjoy !

Teacher & Mr. T.