Various artists album review
Reggae Hits Volume 24
Jet Star
05 - 12 - 1998

Tracking list

  1. Glen Washington - Open Your Eyes
  2. Frankie Paul - Searching For Love
  3. Al Campbell - I Found You
  4. Sizzla - Goodways
  5. Anthony B - Me Dem A Ban
  6. Various Artists - Mount Zion Medley
  7. Beenie Man - Number One
  8. Spragga Benz - Some Bwoy
  9. Freddie McGregor - What You Gonna Do
  10. Dennis Brown - Love Me Tonight
  11. Wayne Wonder - Informer
  12. Elephant Man - A Nuh Fi We Fault
  13. Spragga Benz - Cute & Little & Tight
  14. Luciano & Sizzla - Jah Blessing
  15. Prince Malachi - Jah Is Our Guide
  16. Peter Hunningale - African Tears
  17. Don Campbell - They Don't Know
  18. Mr. Vegas - Bounce Bout
  19. Innocence Crew - Impossible Train
  20. Beenie Man - Gospel Time (Remix)
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4

Jus before the end of 1998 Jet Star -UK's leading distributor of reggae, soca and soul music- released the latest volume of their long lasting 'Reggae Hits' series. Volume 24 gathers the best of the best of reggae and dancehall music from several production houses all over the world. This collection contains four 'Cave" productions, a label set up by Jet Star that is responsible four releasing a string of fine 7" singles over the last months.
The album kicks of with an exceptional strong tune -Open Your Eyes- by Glen Washington for Stingray. Frankie Paul delivers a solid lovers tune and the same goes for reggae veteran Al Campbell. Three top dj's of the moment, Sizzla, Beenie Man and Anthony B. put down convinging sides, with Sizzla's Goodways being the strongest track. Freddie and Dennis are in fine shape and their tracks are very enjoyable. One of the highlights of the album is Prince Malachi's roots and culture song Jah Is Our Guide. Luciano and Sizzla -a winning combination- are present here with the Xterminator produced Jah Blessing. The best track on the album is the brilliant mix Mount Zion Medley by Morgan Heritage, Capleton, Jah Cure, Ras Shiloh, LMS and Bushman. Wicked !
Reggae Hits Volume 24 is the compilation set that will satisfy any reggae fan. Crucial !

Teacher & Mr. T.