Various artists album review
Reggae Hits Volume 25 ~ Silver Edition
Jet Star
30 - 07 - 1999

Tracking list

  1. Luciano - Punch Line
  2. Capleton - Who I Am
  3. Glen Washington - Down Low
  4. Singing Melody - I Want You Back
  5. Beenie Man, Ghost & General B - Platinum
  6. Mr. Vegas - Shout It Out
  7. Cobra - Tek Dat
  8. Shalom - News For You
  9. Marcia Griffiths - Just Try Me
  10. Peter Hunnigale - Going Out Of My Head
  11. Cobra - Tek It Off
  12. Spragga Benz - 40 & Mi Blunt
  13. Bushman - I Burn
  14. Sizzla - Dem A Go Suffer
  15. Antonio - Your Love Is My Love
  16. Zebra - Gal A Say She Want
  17. Tanya Stephens - Rigormortis
  18. Tanto Metro & Devonte - I Can't Get No Sleep
  19. Capleton - Hot A Get Hotter
  20. Luciano - Moving Out Of Babylon
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4/5

Jet Star's 'Reggae Hits' series is the longest running compilation series in reggae music. Since its inception in 1985 this compilation series' popularity has increased from volume to volume, making each volume one of the most anticipated releases.
Reggae Hits Volume 25 ~ Silver Edition kicks off with a magnificent song from the 'Messenger' Luciano -Punch Line- and he also closes the album with yet another wicked roots tune for singer/producer Robert Ffrench entitled Moving Out Of Babylon. Capleton delivers his tune Who I Am on the same riddim as Luciano's Punch Line -the Baba Tunde riddim- produced by Henfield's Shadowman, a personal friend of Luciano. Capleton is also featured here with the conscious chant Hot A Get Hotter for Stone Love Productions. Glen Washington's Down Low is a peerless love song which he recorded for the NW London label Stingray. Beenie Man teams up with two members of the Monster Shack Crew -Ghost & General B- and the trio delivers a sure fire hit that's already inspired an entire album of other versions out of the Shocking Vibes camp.
Deejay Cobra is present here with two cuts, Tek Dat a cut to the popular Grass Cyaart riddim and Tek It Off, over deejay/producer General Degree's boiling Pot Cover riddim. For his own Brat Productions label Red Rat, produced Spragga Benz's 40 & Mi Blunt on the Pink Lotion riddim. The ever present contributor to the bashment mix, the unstoppable Mr. Vegas is in riviting form delivering his cut to the Grass Cyaart riddim -Shout It Out-, the follow up to 'Jacket' for Richard Browne's Hi Profile label. Zebra, who enjoyed chart success with 'Unfair You Know' and 'Right Type Of Love', collaborates with young Kingston producer Shines for his tune Gal A Say She Want.
There are two magnificent cuts on producer Sheldon 'Cali Bud' Stewart's riddim 'Dont Want To Be No General' present here. Bushman delivers a passionate affirmation of his Rastafari roots on I Burn whilst cultural singjay Sizzla lays down the rootical Dem A Go Suffer.
Reggae Hits Volume 25 ~ Silver Edition is today's best mix of roots tunes, dancehall shots and loversrock songs ....enjoy it !

Teacher & Mr. T.