Various artists album review
Reggae Hits Volume 26
Jet Star
27 - 12 - 1999

Tracking list

  1. Glen Washington - This Kind Of Feeling
  2. Freddie McGregor - Give Jah Glory
  3. Peter Hunnigale - A Little More Time
  4. Dennis Brown - I Believe
  5. Glen Washington - Still Going Strong
  6. Morgan Heritage - Buss Up Barriers
  7. Ghost - Do You Believe
  8. Sandra Melody - No Scrubbs
  9. Junior Kelly - Love So Nice
  10. Sizzla - Pull The Resources
  11. Beenie Man - Never See
  12. Capleton - Highest Grade
  13. Mikey General/Luciano/Singing Melody/Lukie D/Pinchers/Tony Curtis/Anthony Redrose - Change The World
  14. Junior Kelly - What Would It Take
  15. Pam Hall - Heart Of A Woman
  16. Don Ricardo - How Can I
  17. Al Campbell - Last Dance
  18. Vivian Jones - Can't Hide
  19. Frankie Paul - Dawn
  20. Gemini - Turn Back The Hands Of Time
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4

Jet Star's exemplary "Reggae Hits" series launches their 26th volume, featuring a new collection of songs. Very much in the same way as its predecessors this set gathers popular hit tunes as well as some - probably - lesser known efforts ranging from Dancehall to Lovers rock, thus fitting everyone's taste. The tracking list contains the names of such established artists as Freddie McGregor, the sorely missed Dennis Brown, Sizzla, Capleton and Beenie Man alongside those of up-and-coming artists like Don Ricardo, the versatile Sandra Melody, Gemini and the gifted Junior Kelly. Of course, every track included has its own merits, but some of them are cursed with a certain touch and feel that makes them stand out. The high prolific Glen Washington contributes with two fine songs : the sublime This Kind Of Feeling" and "Still Going Strong". Freddie McGregor teamed up with Tony "Ruffcutt" Phillips and Paul "Jazzwad" Yebuah to deliver the awesome "Give Jah Glory", a treat to all roots fans and one of the best tracks on this album. Reggae vet Freddie McGregor sounds in fine form as ever over a powerful, thumping stepper. The self-produced message tune "Little More Time" is a solid effort from sweet-voiced Peter Hunnigale, who continues to put out quality tunes. "I Believe" showcases Dennis Brown's unique vocal style in a heavily produced delivery. Morgan Heritage perform their roots killer "Buss Up Barriers", before we are treated to two covers : Ghost's adaption of Cher's "I Believe" and the Mafia & Fluxy produced "No Srubbs", Sandra Melody's version of TLC's "No Little Scrubbs". The Junior Kelly tracks - earlier in the year released on a three track CD single - are solid efforts of a much promising newcomer. Bobby "Digital" Dixon produced Sizzla and Beenie Man versioning the hardcore "Silencer" riddim. Both top ranking deejays fully live up to expectations and truly deliver notable conscious cuts. Contemporary roots fans will find further succour thanks to Capleton whose Culture Lee produced effort turns up the heat again. Then a Reggae all stars line up comes up with a nice message song followed by "Heart Of A Woman", a fine song from the well respected female singer Pam Hall. The last five tracks of this set are strictly for lovers. Don Ricardo shines in the "Ruff Cutt" production "How Can I", an appealing and well executed Lovers tune. Al Campbell and Vivian Jones utilize the same revitalized riddim for their deliveries. Frankie Paul steps forward with a mediocre cut, which he performs in his well known style. In the end it's Gemini who gets the credits for delivering UK Lovers rock par excellence, with the slow paced "Turn Back The Hands Of Time". Needless to say that "Reggae Hits Vol. 26" is well worth checking out !

Teacher & Mr. T.