Various artists album review
Reggae Hits Volume 27
Jet Star
27 - 10 - 2000

Tracking list

  1. God & King - Luciano
  2. Peace & Love - Freddie McGregor
  3. Believe In You - Peter Hunningale
  4. All My Life - Marcia Griffiths & D'Ville
  5. Grab Yu Lass And Come - Mikey Spice & Louie Culture
  6. Crush - Richie Stephens
  7. Mr. Foggaty - Bounty Killer
  8. Bun Friend - Capleton
  9. Can't Get Away - Junior Kelly
  10. Without Your Love - Peter Hunningale
  11. Can't Stop Loving You - Donna Marie
  12. Blackman's Paradise - Morgan Heritage
  13. It Ain't - Beenie Man & Lexxus
  14. Jah Jah Live On - Junior Kelly
  15. Thank You Lord - Judy Mowatt
  16. Want You With Me - Lukie D
  17. Give Jah Praise - Glen Washington
  18. So Many Signs - Antonio
  19. Love And Affection - Anthony B
  20. Earth Quake Mega Mix - Chukki Star, Sweet Irie, Anthony B & Phoebe One
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4

Jet Star's exemplary "Reggae Hits" series launches their 27th volume, featuring a new collection of songs. Very much in the same way as its predecessors this set gathers popular hit tunes as well as some - probably - lesser known efforts ranging from Dancehall to Lovers rock, thus fitting everyone's taste.
The album opens with two cuts across Stingray's Muzik Street riddim. First there's roots frontman Luciano who delivers a solid tune called God & King, then comes reggae veteran Frdddie McGregor who performs a top notch song entitled Peace & Love. You can also find here two tunes across the hugely popular Bobby Digital 'Grab You Lass' riddim (based upon Treasure Isle's 'You Don't Care' rocksteady riddim) : the combination Mikey Spice and Louie Culture with Grab You Lass and lady killer Riche Stephens with the lovers tune Crush. Also from producer Bobby Digital comes the best tune on this album, Morgan Heritage's Blackman's Paradise, a tune which uses the riddim of Junior Byles' Channel One hit 'Fade Away'.
Hardcore dancehall comes from the Stone Love Crew, featured here with three tunes : Bounty Killer's Mr. Foggety, Capleton's Bun Friend and the combination Beenie Man & Lexxus with It Ain't. All three tracks are on the 'Typhoid' riddim. Two tracks here -Jah Jah Live On and Can't Get Away of upcoming reggae star Junior Kelly, who surprised the reggae community with his strong debut set Rise. There's one Donovan Germain production here, the lovers rock duet All My Life by Marcia Griffiths and the lead singer of ARP, D'Ville. More lovers rock comes from UK based Peter Hunnigale, who contributes two excellent tunes : Believe In Love and Without Your Love. Further standout tracks are Glen Washington's Give Jah Praises, Judy Mowatt's Thank You Lord and the Earth Quake Mega Mix by Chukki Star, Sweet Irie, Anthony B & Phoebe One.
This album presents you a great selection of the best reggae has to offer at this moment.

Teacher & Mr. T.