Reggae Hits Vol. 37
Jet Star
December 20, 2007

Track list
  1. Beres Hammond - Give It All You've Got
  2. Richie Stephens & Maxi Priest - My Girl Dis
  3. Nato - Lost Without You
  4. Morgan Heritage - Faithful
  5. Sizzla - Really And Truly
  6. Tarrus Riley - Protect Yuh Head
  7. Gyptian - My Fadah Seh
  8. Zulu - Hurricane Dean
  9. Don Campbell & Nato - Same Girl
  10. Queen Ifrica - Below The Waist
  11. Da'ville - Crying Over You
  12. Mr. Vegas - Tek Weh Yuhself
  13. Beenie Man - Reverse Di Ting
  14. Munga - Gangstas Do Dem Own Ting
  15. Ginjah - Music Alone
  16. Mxt - Bab-A-Day
  17. Shaggy & Ninja Man - A Nuh You, A Nuh Me
  18. Tuggawar - Tugg Loving
  19. Benzley Hype feat. Cynthia Pareja - Different Worlds
Bonus DVD
  • Beenie Man - Reverse Di Ting
  • Benzley Hype feat. Cynthia Pareja - Different Worlds
  • Da'ville - This Is The Feeling
  • Gyptian - My Fadah Seh
  • Morgan Heritage - Faithful
  • Ginjah - Music Alone
  • Macka B - Children Children
Rate this album!
Cast your vote below.

Essential -Votes: 13-
Very Good -Votes: 3-
Good -Votes: 8-
Average -Votes: 2-
Disappointing -Votes: 1-
A Waste Of Time -Votes: 0-

Total votes : 27
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4
The long lasting series 'Reggae Hits' (it started in the mid 1980s) reaches volume 37, which comes with a fine bonus DVD of videos that will please most reggae and dancehall fans. We're really glad to see a clip of UK reggae roots reggae veteran Macka B, who surprised us with a splendid performance at Reggae Geel last summer.

The cd is filled with a good collection of roots and dancehall tunes. Beenie Man's hit Reverse Di Ting for producer Sean Reid's label Seanizzle comes after Mr. Vegas' anthem Tek Weh Yuhself, the smasher pon the 'Dutchie Pot' riddim from the Kirkledove camp. The impressive Munga delivers the powerful vocodered tune Gangstas Do Dem Own Ting, riding the 'Bluetooth' riddim, build by producer Michael "Liquid" Brissett. The successful duo Richie Stephens and Maxi Priest bring us their interpretation of the 'Stars' riddim (now named the 'Full Attention' riddim), My Girl Dis, courtesy of producer Lloyd Campbell. More vocal niceness comes from veteran Beres Hammond, whose moving tune Give It All You've Got is one of the best licks of the 'Stop The Fighting' riddim... excellent! On the same riddim comes Queen Ifrica's top tune Below The Waist.

Roots defenders Morgan Heritage recorded the solid tune Faithful for producer Phillip Linton. Da'Ville voiced the same riddim and called it Crying Over You. Bobo dread Sizzla takes Bob's 'Natural Mystic' riddim for his tune Really And Truly. From the same producers (Colin "Bulby" York & Lynford "Fatta" Marshall) comes newcomer Tarrus Riley's tune Protect Yuh Head. That tune licks the vintage riddim 'Midnight Hour'. Robert Livingstone's hitlabel 'Big Yard' contributes the fast paced tune A Nuh You, A Nuh Me by the combination Shaggy & Ninja Man. Gyptian's vocal delivery kinda reminds us of Burning Spear! This excellent outing entitled My Fadah Seh is a strong tune across the 'Foundation' riddim by producer Vernal Newman.

The collection also offers some nice UK reggae tunes. There's Tuggawar's excellent hit single Tug-Ga-War, while Don Campbell & Nato give us a fine lovers tune called Same Girl, produced by Danny Ray, the same producer who is also responsible for Tuggawar's tune. Nato -- an impressive soulful vocalist -- delivers Lost With You, a tune that fits the taste of the true lovers rock fan.

All in all a solid album!