Various artists album review
Reggae Songbirds
Charm-Jet Star
April 1, 2005

Tracking list

  1. Better Days - Marcia Griffiths
  2. Baby Be True - Carlene Davis
  3. I'll Always Love You - Pam Hall
  4. Spell - Sylvia Tella
  5. Can't Stop Loving You -Donna Marie
  6. Stealing Love - JC Lodge
  7. One Time - Queen Omega
  8. Secret Lover - Nisha K
  9. I Don't Know Why - Tracy
  10. Something Inside So Strong - Marcia Griffiths
  11. The First Word In Memory - Carlene Davis
  12. Never Can Say Goodbye - Pam Hall
  13. Two People - Sylvia Tella
  14. Master Plan - Donna Marie
  15. Sweet Dreams - JC Lodge
  16. Hypocrites and Parasites - Queen Omega
  17. To See You Smile - Toyin Adekale
  18. Knocking On Heavenís Door - Phoebe One
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 3/4 Production : 3/4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 2/3

The compilation album "Reggae Songbirds" collects 18 tracks from some of the finest female voices in the reggae business including Jamaican artists such as veterans Marcia Griffiths, Pam Hall and J.C. Ludge as well as UK based vocalists like for example Sylvia Tella, Toyin Adekale and Queen Omega. It's a nice attempt to correct the woeful under-representation of women in the male-dominated Reggae world. "Reggae Songbirds" mainly focuses on the Lovers Rock genre. Nothing wrong with that, but with a better balance between lovers rock and reality tunes this set could have expressed that female artists are also able to deliver conscious themes in a convincing way. Now there are only a few tunes to reveal that aspect of the genre's feminine side. Anyway, best tracks are the Marcia Griffiths tunes "Better Days" and "Something Inside So Strong", Queen Omega's "One Time" and "Hypocrites And Parasites", Donna Marie's "Masterplan", Sylvia Tella's "Two People", Nisha K's "Secret Lover" and Phoebe One's dancehall/R&B crossover track "Knocking On Heaven's Door".

Teacher & Mr. T.