Various artists album review
Reggae Xplosion '99
Jamdown Records

Tracking list

  1. Various Artists - Intro
  2. Beenie Man - Sleep With Me
  3. Red Rat - Girl With A Car
  4. Mr. Vegas - Buss Your Bubble
  5. Lukie D - Blow Your Mind
  6. Shalom - I've Got News For You
  7. Richie Stephens - Take Me Away
  8. Round Head - Call Me
  9. Beenie Man & Mr. Vegas - Bad Man Nuh Flee
  10. Sean Paul - Fit And Legit
  11. Chicken - Sneak Up
  12. Chico - Rail Up
  13. Tanya Stephens - From Yuh Hot
  14. Sean Paul - Deport Them
  15. Mr. Vegas - Jack It Up
  16. Goofy - Clinton Defense (Remix)
  17. Devonte & Tanto Metro - What The F@#k
  18. Tanya Stephens & Real T - Commercial Jack
  19. Various - MegaMix (Bonus Track)
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 5

"Reggae Xplosion '99" is the somewhat confusing title of this compilation set as it actually gathers mainly the latest and hottest dancehall tremblers with the addition of the lovers rock hitsingle "Ive Got News For You" by Shalom. In fact it continues its predecessor "Dancehall Xplosion '99".
Namebrand dancehall artists like Beenie Man, Mr. Vegas, Sean Paul, Tanya Stephens, Red Rat and the ultimate duo Devonte & Tanto Metro dominate the track listing of this "continuous mix" album with their in demand and noteworthy efforts. But also the Richard Martin produced cuts delivered by the up-and-coming Chico and newcomer Chicken deserve some serious attention. Jeremy Harding's "Mercury" riddim kicks off the juggling party with Beenie Man's big hit "Sleep With Me" and three more wicked cuts, before we get breathing space with Shalom's "I've Got News For You", a number one hit in Jamaica. Then the dancehall vibes take over again with Richie Stephens' infectious "Sail Away" riddim, Richard Martin's "Broadway" riddim, Tony "CD" Kelly's smash hit riddim "Bookshelf" and Jamdown's fresh and awesome "Junk Yard" riddim, which might be created in association with Tony Kelly (?!). "Reggae Xplosion '99" is filled with stunning cuts, thrillers and killers. If you buy this album - and its predecessor "Dancehall Xplosion '99" - you got yourself a PARTY !!

Teacher & Mr. T.