Various artists album review
Riddim Driven ~ Renegade
VP Records-Walboomers Music
20 - 07 - 2002

Tracking list

  1. Spragga Benz - Nah Complain
  2. Kiprich - Tashoy
  3. Leego - Children Children
  4. Chaka Demus - Gimmi Di Vibes
  5. Sizzla - Renegade
  6. Anthony B - Jiggalo
  7. Chicken - Run & Hide
  8. Future Troubles - Jedi
  9. Junior Kelly - Woman Something
  10. Lukie D - Only Fifteen
  11. Bling Dawg & Mr. Notch - Gal Factory
  12. Capleton - How It A Go
  13. Harry Toddler - Close To Me
  14. Elephant Man - Look
  15. Lexxus & Mr. Vegas - Why aka Video Light
  16. Robyn & Lady Saw - One Night Stand
  17. Mr. Vegas - They Don't Know
  18. Frisco Kid - War Dem Again
  19. Black Rat - Rah Rah
  20. Daddy Lizzard - Grudge You
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4

Colin 'Bulby' York and Lynford 'Fatta' Marshall of the "Fat Eyes" production crew are renown names among the avid dancehall fan thanks to bashment runnings for their "Hot Wax", "Candle Wax" and "Lick Shot" riddims. Now the duo is back with the "Renegade", a hard hitting new yardcore dancehall riddim that has maintained the fire in the dancehalls over the last few months alongside "The Flip", "The Return", "Martial Arts" and Lenky's outrageous "Diwali". Most in demand cuts so far are Capleton's master baster "How It A Go", Sizzla's "Renegade" and Elephant Man's "Look", all of which are included on this "Riddim Driven" set. Especially worth checking are Sizzla's scorching new battle testament called "Renegade" and Elephant Man's "Look", which features a new lyrical approach by Elephant Man. Furthermore this set features the first duet from Lexxus and Mr. Vegas, "Why aka Video Light", actually an instant hit recently heating up dancehalls from Jamaica to London. Conscious singjay Junior Kelly delivers "Woman Something" which proves notable for its conscious lyrics and provocative subject matter. Besides the aforementioned tracks this angry slice of hardcore dancehall has more vibrant tunes to enjoy. Definite highlights are Spragga Benz's "Nah Complain", Chicken's "Run & Hide", Bling Dawg & Mr. Notch's "Gal Factory", Frisco Kid's "War Again" and the surprisingly strong "Gimmi Di Vibes" by veteran Chaka Demus. Also check out Daddy Lizard's "Grudge You" as this one comes as an extented version.

Note : the trackorder on the sleeve of this release is completely incorrect!!

Teacher & Mr. T.