Rezidents Evil
Exodus Nuclear Music - Heart To Art Music
August 26, 2008

Track list
  1. Resident Evil - Oxxygen
  2. Pop It Off - Vybz Kartel
  3. Jah Deliver Me - Anthony B
  4. World Is Mine - Paashot feat. Nando
  5. People Biz - Black Ryno
  6. Jah Jah Keep Me Happy - Teflon
  7. Reality Show - Tez
  8. Auto Tune - Deva Bratt
  9. Word To The Wise - Mitch
  10. Undress - Shawn Storm
  11. Fire Squeeze - Doza Medicine
  12. War Dem Want - Blass
  13. Stop Kill Unuself - CP Inc
  14. Tonight They Cry - Earth Worm
  15. Don't Trouble Jah Jah Children - Fantan Mojah
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 5 Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3/4
Produced by Ernest 'Father Romie' Braithwaite for his own Exodus Nuclear Music label, this is a tough hardcore dancehall one riddim album with 15 tunes across (several different arrangements of) his very strong 'Rezidents Evil'-riddim in collaboration with NYC's Heart To Art Music. Ocho Rios based Oxxygen" opens this album with the strong tune giving the riddim its name "Resident Evil" followed by Vybz Kartel whose Portmore Empire is heavily represented on this album with "Pop It Off" and Anthony B with one of his strongest tunes in recent months "Jah Deliver Me".

Newcomer Paashot convinces with "World Is Mine" before Portmore Empire's Black Ryno contributes the very fine "World Is Mine" and Teflon the heavily autotuned "Jah Jah Keep Me Happy". Tez, and I do wonder whether this is Taz of Timeless Dancers, or the other Taz (from "Steppa Hater" in 2000), delivers the excellent "Reality Show". Another member of Vybz Kartel's Portmore Empire - actually one of its cofounders - Deva Bratt addresses one of the hottest topics and programs in reggae and dancehall music in his "Auto Tune" and then former A.R.P. singer Mitch contributes the conscious "Word To The Wise".

Portmore Empire's Shawn Storm gives us the strong slackness of "Undress" with the Empire's Doza Medicine very violently going for the "Fire Squeeze" and Portmore Empire affiliate Blass is giving it to dem if it's "War Dem Want". Gary Exodus' protégés CP Inc (Creative People Inc.) the talented singer/dj combination, Wayne Rose and Shawn Reynolds, that evolved from the group Meaness and Wanted delivers the great "Stop Kill Unuself" and 2004 promising newcomer Earthworm, who came to attention being featured on "Wildin' 'n' Freestylin'" on Ward 21's "Mentally Disturbed" album, after disappearing for 4 years returns with "Tonight They Cry".

The last tune on this one riddim album is "Don't Trouble Jah Jah Children" on which Fantan Mojah heavily autotuned in the backing vocals but fierce in his own voice throughout the verses and chorus shows he can ride this type of hardcore riddim even better than Anthony B. Unfortunately the clean version of Exodus Nuclear Music's 'Rezidents Evil'-riddim has not been included, but that is my only criticism of this album, that all hardcore dancehall aficionados and especially those waiting for a Portmore Empire album should definitely buy.