Reggae Gold 2011
VP Records
June 26, 2011

Reggae Gold 2010 - Various Artists Track list
Disc 1.
  1. Stephen Marley feat. Damian "Jr. Gong" Marley & Buju Banton - Jah Army
  2. I-Octane - Nuh Ramp Wid We
  3. Assassin - How Mi Feel
  4. Mavado - Peppa
  5. Shabba Ranks - None Ah Dem
  6. Cham feat. Mykal Rose & Bounty killer - Stronger
  7. Shaggy & Alaine - For Yur Eyez Only
  8. Vybz Kartel - Whine (Wine)
  9. Gyptian - Duggu Duggu
  10. Richie Spice - Black Woman
  11. Stevie Face - Can't Go Round It
  12. Tarrus Riley - Groovy Little Thing
  13. Beres Hammond - Pull Up
  14. Courtney John - Everyday
  15. Queen Ifrica - Times Like These
  16. Alborosie feat. Camilla - One Draw
Disc 2.
  1. Various Artists - Reggae Gold 2011 Mix Disc
Rate this album!
Cast your vote below.

Essential -Votes: 3-
Very Good -Votes: 1-
Good -Votes: 2-
Average -Votes: 2-
Disappointing -Votes: 0-
A Waste Of Time -Votes: 0-

Total votes : 8
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4/5
Eighteen years ago VP Records launched their 'Reggae Gold' series, and today it's still one of the most wanted compilation sets around. This volume gives us (only) 16 tracks and a nice Mix Disc by Dj Norie of Power 105 NYC.

This summer's street anthem Jah Army is the opener of the album. Grammy Award winner Stephen Marley uses a relick of Black Uhuru's 'General Penitentiary' riddim for this awesome tune. I-Octane follows with his dancehall hit Nuh Ramp Wid We, a tune across the 'Bus Stop' riddim out of the Cashflow camp. He's doing very well lately, 'No Love Inna Dem' was another charttopper for him. Assassin makes a strong impression with the energetic tune How Mi Feel.

With Mavado's feel good tune Peppa the tempo slows down a little bit. Shabba Ranks takes the same Stephen 'Di Genius' McGregor produced riddim ('Pepper') for his tune None Ah Dem. Fine tune by this veteran dancehall deejay! Cham, Mykal Rose and Bounty Killer join forces for Stronger, a typical Dave Kelly dancehall tune. Back to the mainstream with Shaggy & Alaine who deliver For Your Eyes Only, a highly commercial outing produced by Tony 'CD' Kelly.

The popular Vybz Kartel comes next with Whine (Wine) produced by Federation Sound's Max Glazer. Chart climber Gyptian surprised everyone with the cross-over tune Duggu Duggu produced by Stephen 'Supa Hype' Davis. Richie Spice contributes Black Woman, a tune he released last year. Stevie Face is in a serious mellow mood with his tune Can't Go Round It, a sweet production on the 'Run Run' riddim for Stingray Records. Just as sweet is Tarrus Riley's redo of Beres Hammond's classic tune Groovy Little Thing. Beres Hammond 'answers' with the catchy tune Pull Up for London-based producer Blacker Dread.

Courtney John relicks the Treasure Isle riddim 'You Don't Care' for the lovers tune Everyday. Jeremy Harding produced a nice one-drop riddim called 'City Life.' Besides Sean Paul, Elephant Man, Tony Rebel and others he also asked Queen Ifrica to voice the riddim. The result -- Times Like These -- is the highlight of this album! Do check it out! Alborosie in combination with Camilla rounds off this compilation set with the Rita Marley cover One Draw.