Various artists album review
Reggae Xplosion 2001
Jamdown Records

Tracking list

  1. HC - Intro
  2. Luciano & Goofy - When You Say You Love Me
  3. Kirk Davis - Only Time
  4. Ghost - Your Memories
  5. Anthony Cruz - Weakness
  6. Beres Hammond - Chase Them
  7. Mr. Vegas - Jungle
  8. Triston Palmer & Beenie Man - Jah Power
  9. Super Blacks - Sweet Shirley
  10. Elephant Man - Mr. Biggs Heads
  11. Fiona & Kiprich - Need Good Loving
  12. Tanto Metro & Devonte - Tell A Gal No
  13. Ce'Cile & Don Yute - Get It On
  14. General B & Ghost - Crazy
  15. Chico - Nuh Support Dem
  16. Mad Cobra & Lukie D - That's The Way We Roll
  17. Danny English & Cupid - Dear Sandra
  18. Lukie D & Fiona - Love Me
  19. Pinchers - Tomorrow
  20. Razah - War Wid Me
  21. Angel Doolas - More Dough
  22. Frisco Kid - Crisp & Bloods
  23. Elephant Man & Kiprich - More Pum
  24. Razah - One Life To Live
  25. Capleton - Woman Dem A Gwan
  26. Kirk Davis - You Sing To Me
  27. Hawkeye - Tek A Rest
  28. Various Artists - Megamix (Bonus Track)
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 5

"Reggae Xplosion 2001" is the companion set to Jamdown Records' "Dancehall Xplosion 2001", and although the title obviously indicates a different vibe there's only little difference in the music featured on these two megamix albums. However, in contrary to "Dancehall Xplosion 2001" the "Reggae Xplosion 2001" set incorporates a wider range of dancehall styles. It's not only pure dancehall one is treated to, but also samples of lovers rock and culture music can be found on this compilation set. Producers include Chad "Goofy" Simpson (Young Blood Productions), Mark Hudson (Stone Cold Productions), Shane Richards (Shines Productions), Richard "Shams" Browne (B-Rich Records), Colin Johnson (Shy Shy Records), and the Jamdown Crew.
After the intro part "Reggae Xplosion 2001" kicks off with three solid versions across the awesome "Timeless" riddim. Especially the unusual combination Luciano & Goofy deliver a noteworthy piece. The mix continues but the mood changes a bit with three cuts forr Stone Cold's "Joe Frazier" riddim. Anthony Cruz comes up with a very enjoyable lovers tune and once again shows that he's a fine singer. Beres Hammond, one of reggae music's greatest living vocalists, contributes a fine cultural piece. Next are three cuts for a reworking of Studio One's classic "Shank I Shek" entitled "Internet" riddim. Jamdown's infectious "Anaconda" brings back the dancehall vibe with entertaining combination tunes from Fiona & Kiprich, Tanto Metro & Devonte and Ce'Cile & Don Yute. Richard "Shams" Browne's hit riddim "Orgasm" takes over with General B & Ghost's herb tune "Crazy" and Chico's wicked "Nah Support Dem". Mad Cobra & Lukie D's "That's The Way We Roll" and Danny English & Cupid's are delivered over the insanely addictive "Shag-A-Delic" riddim, which utilizes the "Soul Bossa Nova" sample (most recently also used in a movie entitled "Austin Powers"). Then Lukie D & Fiona and Pinchers take their turn on Jamdown's killer riddim "Uprising". Especially Pinchers' "Tomorrow" is a great conscious tune. Then one is treated to six dancehall tunes produced by Colin Johnson for "Shy Shy Records". Frisco Kid's "Crisps & Bloods" is the best piece for the first riddim with Razah's "War Wid Me" and Angel Doolas' "More Dough" being not far behind. Elephant Man's "More Pum" is delivered across the "Bionic" riddim. The same goes for the solid efforts "One Life To Live" by Razah and Capleton's "Woman Dem A Gwan". Kirk Davis and Hawkeye round off with two nice pieces for the "Da Groove", before Jazzy T drops the bonus track.
"Reggae Xplosion 2001" is strongly recommended for those who are looking for a highly infectious blend of dancehall, lovers rock and cultural reggae presented in a decent megamix format.

Teacher & Mr. T.