Various artists album review
Reggae Xplosion 2002
Jamdown Records

Tracking list

  1. Baya - Intro
  2. Beenie Man - Long Time
  3. Tony Rebel - Women Of Jamaica
  4. Buju Banton - Brighter Tomorrow
  5. Goofy & Shepherd - Don't Judge Me
  6. Abijah - Live
  7. Kirk Davis - Don't Cry For Me
  8. Dasia - Down Here
  9. Natural Black - Free Again
  10. Warrior King - Breath Of Fresh Air
  11. George Nooks - Money In My Pocket
  12. Fiona - I Want You
  13. Tony Curtis, Jigsy King & Future Troubles - No Special Time
  14. Spanner Banner & Powerman - Things Can Turn Around
  15. Lehbanculeh - Mama
  16. Powerman - African Princess
  17. Determine - Money Or Not
  18. Anthony B - Dance Time
  19. Luciano - Astronomical Change
  20. Glen Washington - Weeping
  21. Tony Curtis - Be My Girl
  22. Half Pint - Move On
  23. Capleton - Earthquake In Zion
  24. Jazzy T - Outro
  25. Various Artists - Megamix (Bonus Track)
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4

"Reggae Xplosion 2002", the companion set to "Dancehall Xplosion 2002", is the 4th installment in one of Jamdown Records' finest and most successful megamix series. "Reggae Xplosion 2002" is the ultimate party album as it covers a wide range of reggae dancehall styles including lovers rock and culture music. The bulk of the material featured here is produced by Mark Hudson (Stone Cold Productions) with additional production work from Garfield Hamilton & Troy Mclean (First Name Music) and Chad "Goofy" Simpson (Young Blood Productions)
After the intro by Baya, "Reggae Xplosion 2002" kicks off with three blazing cuts over the melodic and rootical "Herbalist" riddim, showcasing the exquisite production talents of First Name Music's production team Troy McClean & Garfield Hamilton. Especially Buju Banton's "Brighter Tomorrow" is a notable tune, but also Beenie Man and Tony Rebel deliver vital matching cuts. Next drops a wicked riddim from Young Blood Productions which includes the awesome "Breath Of Fresh Air", Warrior King's excellent follow-up to his huge hit "Virtuous Woman". Also well worth hearing are "Live" by sensational newcomer Abijah and Kirk Davis' "Don't Cry For Me". The mix continues but the mood changes a little bit with four solid cuts across Stone Cold's revitalized "Money In My Pocket" riddim. First George Nooks' decent cover of this great song, which once again underlines that he's the perfect singer when it comes to performing Dennis Brown songs as he sounds alot like this sorely missed reggae singer. Also Fiona's "I Want You" and the combination tune "Things Can Turn Around" are very enjoyable efforts. The next riddim drops in with Lehbanculeh's wonderful "Mama". It's a wicked backdrop with solid versions by Powerman, Determine and Anthony B. Luciano's nice "Astronomical Change" heads the last bashment selection which includes the standouts "Move On" by Half Pint and Capleton's "Earthquake In Zion". Then the bonus track, actually the only weak effort to be found on this compilation set.
"Reggae Xplosion 2001" contains enough powerful stuff to make it worth while checking!

Teacher & Mr. T.