Reggae Highlites 2006
Eight76 Records-All Arc Enterprises
December 22, 2006

Track list
  1. Real Rock - AJ Brown
  2. Highlited - Jah Mason
  3. Vampire - Zyon High
  4. United - Luciano
  5. Glorify The King - Natty Remo
  6. One In A Million - Chezidek
  7. She Get Me High - Ras Petah
  8. (Can't Live) Without You - Evette & George Nooks
  9. Hang On - Luciano
  10. Can't Tek It - Nadine Sutherland & Chrisinti
  11. Happens To Many - Jahmali
  12. Jah Jah Liveth - Mikey General
  13. Keep Me Safe - Nadine Sutherland
  14. Nah Guh Dung Deh - Kehv
  15. Last Night - Evette
  16. Runnings Run (Baby Grand Remix) - Chrisinti
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3
Eight76 Records (that is - 876 is Jamaica's international access code for telecom) has compiled the highlites of their 2006 productions into this compilation "Reggae Highlites 2006". Especially the 'Vampire'-riddim featured on the first 6 tunes of this album is a real scorcher, produced by Kenroy 'YahBreeze' Archibald alongside veteran producer Barry O'Hare.

With AJ Brown's excellent sounding tribute to the music "Real Rock", Jah Mason's fierce "Highlited" and up and coming deejay Zyon High excelling on the track giving the riddim its name "Vampire" this is pure entertainment at a high quality level. Luciano chips in with the fine upful "United" with the dubby backing emphasizing his powerful delivery, before Natty Remo, who was on the brink of stardom when I saw him in 1995 at the White River Reggae Bash in Ocho Rios (the year in which he also toured our Netherlands alongside Mikey Spice, Prezident Brown and Nardo Ranks and who in 1996 made his debut at Sunsplash and in 1997 was the first dancehall artist to ever perform on the annual Vermont Reggae Festival, scoring hits with "Africa Fi Africans", "Weh Dem A Go Do", "Get Ready" and "Signs and Wonders" with Mikey Spice all on Barry O'Hare's Xrated label despite never making it into the big league is convincing cementing a comeback with "Glorify The King" before Chezidek delivers a beautiful lovers tune with "One In A Million" as the last tune on this extremely powerful dubby roots riddim called 'Vampire'.

The second riddim featured hasn't got a name yet (I know) and Ras Petah, who recently has been featured on BIG riddims like Natural Bridge's 'Gully Slime', Stephen Moulton a.k.a. Ras Myhrdak's 'Forty Sup'emmh'-riddim for his Blaque Warriahz label, Taxi's 'There For You'-riddim and Andrew Prendergast's 'Playlist'-riddim for the Camp Fire label is very impressive here with his "She Get Me High" as is Evette (remember her "Heartbreak Hotel" over Steely & Clevie's 'Bad Weather'-riddim in 2000?) alongside George Nooks, together in a romantic mood on "Can't Live Without You". Luciano's conscious "Hang On" and the popular Nadine Sutherland & Chrisinti combination "Can't Tek It" as well as silky as ever sounding Jahmali with "Happens To Many" all keep the vibe upful and really grace the riddim.

Mikey General's delivery is almost restraint on "Jah Jah Liveth" but this works out very well on the last track over this riddim, before we are treated to four more singles over different riddims, the very strong African influenced "Keep Me Safe" on which Nadine Sutherland excels, the smooth singing of Kehv on a party-ish riddim topped with serious lyrics for "Nah Guh Dung Deh", Evette's UK lovers rock influenced "Last Night" and the soulful album closing "Runnings Run (Baby Grand Remix)" of Chrisinti's beautiful ballad. Certainly this album warns us to keep an eye on Kenroy 'YahBreeze' Archibald (and Barry O'Hare)'s future productions, as these roots and lovers tunes certainly are worth spinning.