Rhythm 2 Rhythm Vol. 4 ~ Watch This Sound & What A Feeling
Cou$ins Records-Black Arrow
July 11, 2006

Track list
    'Watch This Sound'-riddim
  1. Watch This Sound - Slim Smith
  2. Bring Back The Vibes - Luciano
  3. Leave The Collie Alone - Tony Curtis
  4. Guiding Star - Frankie Paul
  5. Armageddon - Prince Malachi
    'What A Feeling'-riddim
  6. Swept Away - George Nooks
  7. Jumping - Anthony Cruz
  8. Life Too Short - Lloyd Brown
  9. Joy - Morgan Heritage
  10. She Loves Me - Leroy Mafia
    'Watch This Sound'-riddim
  11. Wonderful World - Lady Lexx
  12. More Weed - Michael Rose
  13. What A Pity - Richie Davis
  14. Didn't I - Delroy Pinnock
  15. High Grade - Nerious Joseph
    'What A Feeling'-riddim
  16. Bad Situation - Luciano
  17. Your Love - Tony Curtis
  18. My God - Richie Davis
  19. What A Feeling - Winston Reedy
  20. What A Feeling Version
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 5 Production : 4 Sound quality : 3/4 Sleeve : 3/4
Cou$ins Records producer Donville Davis has already proven he's capable of relicking classic riddims in fine style with 'Rocksteady & Beatitude' and this year already released the strong various artists albums "Strictly One Drop Vol. 1" and "JA2UK Singers Vol. 3" and very recently by taking the riddims of Jamaica's two most important and influential studios as backing for sweet UK and JA lovers rock, - thus walking in the footsteps of fellow UK label Peckings whose efforts with Bitty McLean's "Peckings Presents ... On Bond Street With The Supersonics" and its various artists follow up "Old Skool Young Blood Vol. 1" were extremely succesfull - for "A Tribute 2 Studio One & Treasure Isle Records". And now Donville Davis has turned his attention once more to Cou$ins Records' Rhythm 2 Rhythm Series in which Volume 4 kicks off with an oldie, of which the first riddim is a relick, Slim Smith "Watch This Sound" recorded in 1970 for Bunny Lee, which is followed by Luciano's great "Bring Back The Vibes" on which his double tracked voice is recorded very nicely and Tony Curtis' great ganja tune "Leave The Collie Alone". Frankie Paul (often featured lately on Donville Davis' riddims) still sounds great on his adaptation of "Shining Star" (of course worldfamous in the T.O.K. version over Germaican Records' 'Cure'-riddim') here titled "Guiding Star" and so does Prince Malachi, who suddenly disappeared from the scene after his very successful debut at album length in 1999/2000 with selfproduced and Xterminator albums, before returning with the Stingray produced "Runaway Slave" in 2004, only to disappear once more before returning earlier this year with "Time To Move On" over Cou$ins relick of the 'Conquer'-riddim, and now delivering the more than fine "Armageddon". George Nooks is the first artist to voice the second riddim featured, Carlton And His Shoes originally for Coxsone Dodd's Studio One recorded 'What A Feeling', with the beautifully crooned "Swept Away", followed by Anthony Cruz' fine girls tune "Jumping" and Lloyd Brown's great uplifting "Life's Too Short". Morgan Heritage contribute the brilliant lovers tune "Joy" recorded in 2004 like the Anthony Cruz and Lloyd Brown tunes over this riddim that was then appropriately titled 'Love', as was Leroy Mafia's soulful "She Loves Me". It's back to the 'Watch This Sound'-riddim then for Lady Lexx' impressive UK lovers rock take on Louis Armstrong's (George Weiss & Bob Thiele penned) "Wonderful World" over it, followed by Michael Rose's killer ganja tune on the riddim "(Want) More Weed", Richie Davis' fine anti-gun anti-violence tune "What A Pity" and Delroy Pinnock's complaint about the woman leaving him "Didn't I". UK veteran Nerious Joseph in his usual melodic style joins Michael Rose in praising the sensi in the last tune over this riddim "High Grade". Luciano's take on the 'What A Feeling'-riddim is less convincing than his tune over 'Watch This Sound' but that might be caused by the fact this album is hampered almost as much by a varying soundquality and mixing the riddim too much in front of the vocals as happened with "A Tribute 2 Studio One & Treasure Isle Records", otherwise "Bad Situation" would have been just as excellent. Tony Curtis' "Your Love" is sounding so much better that the sound / mix of the Luciano tune should in fact just be called a straightforward insult. Richie Davis is building a catalogue of good tunes on Cou$ins Records with a fine mixture of reality, lovers and conscious lyrics, with "My God" being a perfect example of the latter. Winston Reedy, who has never been able to match the success of his archetypical UK lovers rock anthem "Dim The Lights", reinterprets the beautiful "What A Feeling" before the clean "What A Feeling Version" closes an album that once again contains Donville Davis productions of beautiful singing by great singers over well-chosen but unfortunately not always well-sounding riddims.