Rhythm 2 Rhythm Vol. 5 ~ Warrior Charge & Drum Song
Cou$ins Records-Black Arrow
August 1, 2006

Track list
    'Warrior Charge'-riddim
  1. God Is Greater Than Man - Luciano
  2. Locks A Flow - Chuck Fender
  3. Trample The Dragon - Michael Rose
  4. Concrete Jungle - Frankie Paul
    'Drum Song'-riddim
  5. Story Of My Life - Tony Curtis
  6. Pray - Michael Rose
  7. Lego The Vibes - Frankie Paul
  8. Make A Joyful Noise - Jah Stitch
    'Warrior Charge'-riddim
  9. Babylon Get A Blow - Everton Blender
  10. Come To Me - Rod Taylor
  11. Charging Warrior - Matics
  12. Just Be Cool - Leroy Mafia
    'Drum Song'-riddim
  13. Stages Of Life - Prince Malachi
  14. Heaven Sent - Nerious Joseph
  15. Need A Man - Earl Sixteen
  16. Drum Song - Jackie Mittoo
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3/4
Following a break from the Rhythm 2 Rhythm Series of over a year, Cou$ins Records producer Donville Davis - who has already proven he's capable of relicking classic riddims in fine style with 'Rocksteady & Beatitude' and this year's already strong various artists albums "Strictly One Drop Vol. 1", "JA2UK Singers Vol. 3" and very recently both "A Tribute 2 Studio One & Treasure Isle Records" and his return to the Rhythm 2 Rhythm Series with its 4th volume 'Watch This Sound & What A Feeling' - immediately turns his attention once more to Cou$ins Records' Rhythm 2 Rhythm Series with "Volume 5 ~ Warrior Charge & Drum Song". The first riddim is a fabulous relick of Aswad's seminal "Warrior Charge" as it appeared on their (breakthrough) 1981 "Showcase" album over which Luciano delivers the superb "God Is Greater Than Man", Chuck Fender chips in with the excellent "Chuck Fender" and Michael Rose contributes the very restrained, yet very melodic and soulful sung satan defiying "Trample The Dragon" before Frankie Paul (who never seems disappoint over a Cou$ins Records riddim) delivers the excellent reality tune "Concrete Jungle". The second riddim featured on this album is one of those everlasting seminal Studio One riddims created by the late and great Jackie Mittoo, the Soul Vendors' 1968 classic 'Drum Song', that is backing Tony Curtis excellent prayer to Jah "Story Of My Life" followed by Michael Rose's equally strong plaintive call on everyone to never let your vibes waste away, you know that we must "Pray" and Frankie Paul's anti-violence and anti-crime tune "Lego The Vibes" once more showing 'Jamaica's Stevie Wonder' has still got that great voice that propelled him into the charts more than 20 years ago. Probably the biggest surprise of this album is the inclusion of Jah Stitch' thunderous 1975 recording of "Make A Joyful Noise" over this riddim, before we switch back to Aswad's 'Warrior Charge' for Everton Blender's "Babylon Get A Blow" leaving you wondering why this great singer isn't featured on more (modern) roots and foundation riddims. Rod Taylor is one of the UK's unsung heroes of roots reggae, always delivering fine to great tunes, and here he delivers the very fine lovers tune "Come To Me" before Leroy Mafia delivers the superb "Just Be Cool" warning would be man not to boast thyself. The last version on this riddim is an excellent recut of Aswad's tune as "Charging Warrior" by the hornsmen featured on its original recording as well, The Matics a.k.a. Matic Horns around Henry 'Buttons' Tenyue. Hopefully Prince Malachi's string of great tunes on Cou$ins Records which is continued here with his take on 'Drum Song' "Stages Of Life" will result in him returning to the spotlight again, as he's an as skillful singer as he was at the shortlived peak of his career immediately after his debut in 1999 and 2000. Nerious Joseph, the often as just another lovers rock singer dismissed versatile sweet voiced UK singer delivers a great lovers tune telling his lady she is "Heaven Sent" before Earl Sixteen, another veteran who still has a great voice combined with fine songwriting abilities, also shows his softer side in the very fine "Need A Man Like Me". And no better way to close this album (that fortunately sounds great from the first to the last track, something the two latest Cou$ins Records releases definitely lacked) than with Jackie Mittoo's own immortal "Drum Song". A must have roots and lovers rock album.