Rhythm 2 Rhythm Vol. 6 ~ Mo-Bay & Desperate Lover
Cou$ins Records-Black Arrow
January 15, 2007

Track list

    'Desperate Lover'-riddim
  1. I Am Stronger Than Before - Turbulence
  2. Let Me Live My Life - Jah Mason
  3. Desperate Lover - Luciano
  4. You Bring Blessings - Lutan Fyah
  5. Stop All Violence - Sizzla
  6. Love Gonna Conquer Evil - Natural Black
  7. Stand In My Way - Lutan Fyah
  8. Go Down Babylon - Turbulence
  9. Jah Give Strength - Flourgan
    'Desperate Lover'-riddim
  10. Make Me Yours - Sizzla
  11. No Cry Cry Smile - Natural Black
  12. Feeling Deep Within - Norris Man
  13. Desperate Version - 'Computer' Paul Henton
  14. Can't Take Pain No More - Luciano
  15. King Of Kings - Jah Mason
  16. Come Together - Norris Man
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4 Backing : 5 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3/4
Following the dropping of two albums on the heels of each other in the Rhythm 2 Rhythm Series in august last year, with its 4th volume 'Watch This Sound & What A Feeling' and its 5th "Volume 5 ~ Warrior Charge & Drum Song", Cou$ins Records producer Donville Davis - who had already proven he's capable of relicking classic riddims in fine style with 'Rocksteady & Beatitude' and the strong various artists albums "Strictly One Drop Vol. 1", "JA2UK Singers Vol. 3" and last year also "A Tribute 2 Studio One & Treasure Isle Records" - also showed a nose for picking the right riddims to license on the three various artists compilations, as "Strictly One Drop Vol. 1"'s inclusion of CJ James 'Without Love'-riddim and of course Donovan 'Vendetta' Bennett's 'Heavenly' clearly showed.

This time two riddims stemming from Byron Murray's In The Streetz label are featured, the relick of Bob Andy's classic Studio One 1969 recording "Desperate Lover" and Byron Murray's original riddim 'Mo-Bay' as built by 'Computer' Paul Henton. Strange as it may seem with In The Streetz not only being an outlet for his own productions like the very successful first attempt at a one drop 'Street Swing' but through their Rhythm Streetz Series Byron Murray (and Mr. Vegas) also released on CD and LP the extremely successful riddims 'Drop Leaf' produced by Donovan 'Vendetta' Bennett a.k.a. Don Corleon, selector Fire Links' 'Chaka Chaka', DJ Sunshine's 'Real Life', Andrew Prendergast & Josef Bogdanovich a.k.a. Black & White of Downsound Records 'Invasion' & 'Maroon' riddims, 'No Man's An Island' produced by Neville 'Jah Woosh' Beckford for his Original Music label, Don Corleon's second very successful one-drop riddim 'Seasons', Wayne 'Purple Skunk' Morris' (Donovan 'Vendetta' Bennett built and recorded) first one drop riddims 'Istanbul' & 'Tropical' and most recently Don Corleon's 'Heavenly'.

Turbulence is from the start of the first tune over 'Desperate Lover' completely grabbing you with his "Stronger Than Before" but Jah Mason's singing in "Let Me Live My Life" isn't half as impressive, which luckily is made up for completely by Luciano's superb take on Bob Andy's original "Desperate Lover". Unfortunately Lutan Fyah's "You Bring Blessings" is smooth but isn't too convincing either.

The second riddim featured is 'Mo-Bay' which only shares its name with the dynamic touristic metropole in Jamaica's northwest, as this Marley-esque riddim is a slow acoustic jam being the perfect backdrop for Sizzla's restraint delivered plea to "Stop All The Violence", Natural Black's if possible even more convincing "Love Gonna Conquer Evil", Lutan Fyah's "Stand In My Way" in which his once more smooth delivery is so much better fitting this riddim than it was on 'Desperate Lover'. Turbulence with the strong "Go Down Babylon" and early 90s veteran DJ Flourgon with "Jah Give Strength" deliver two more notable efforts over this riddim.

It's back again to 'Desperate Lover' then for Sizzla's "Make Me Yours", Natural Black's "No Cry Cry Smile" and Norris Man's soulful "Feeling Deep Within", three tunes that together with 'Computer' Paul Henton's "Desperate Version" completely change the balance in favour of this riddim, showing this nevertheless is a very entertaining selection as well.

However not as good as the selection of tunes across the 'Mo-Bay'-riddim, as Luciano's excellent "Can't Take Pain No More", Jah Mason's wonderful "Kings Of Kings" and Norris Man's superb "Come Together" in the end make clear that this is the all-killer-no-filler selection, only lacking the clean version of the riddim on this CD. Definitely recommended for the roots(-foundation) aficionado and a worthy successor to the almost impossible to top 'Street Swing'-riddim.