Rising Riddim
Tad's Records Inc
Digital Release
September 6, 2015

Track list
  1. Capleton - Jah Preserves My Soul
  2. Chrisinti - Can't Get Enough
  3. Fantan Mojah - Dem Never Know
  4. Stephanie Wallace - Go It Right Here
  5. Ragga Lox - Let Us Ride
  6. Luciano - Jah Is Stronger
  7. Jah Firrey - Nobody
  8. Lutan Fyah - Heard Di Cry
  9. Furious - Keep Moving
  10. Lymie Murray - Only One
  11. Shaks Rising Dub - Instrumental
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3
Tads Dawkins' Tad's Records Inc - a record production and publishing company based in Kingston JA with main office located in Miami FL - has been in the music business for over thirty years and boasts a catalog showcasing artists such as Gregory Isaacs, Dennis Brown, John Holt, Turbulence, Anthony B, Anthony Cruz, Perfect and many more that cover the spectrum of Reggae & Dancehall music. During the three decades of its existance, the label has released a notable amount of artist albums, 'one riddim' sets and samplers. Here's their latest 'one riddim' set, the "Rising Riddim".

We were fairly certain that the origins of the R&B tinged "Rising" riddim goes back a few years now, because some of the songs included on this compilation sound very familiar to our ears. And indeed, the lovely riddim dates from 2011 and was the result of a fruitful collaboration between Shaks Records and Stephen "Di Genius" McGregor. Three years after it first came to our attention, it reaches (or re-reaches) an official release. Capleton and Luciano are probably the biggest names on an all in all mighty and varied list that includes some really powerful vocalists. All artists have really done well for themselves. But, in particular cultural pieces like Capleton's "Jah Preserve My Soul", Fantan Mojah's "Dem Never Know" and Luciano's "Jah Is Sronger" stand out, while also Lutan Fyah's reality tune "Heard Di Cry" and also Chrisinti's "Can't Get Enough" and Limie Murray's "Only One", which both are real fine lovers tunes, deserve the listener's full attention.

Most of the tunes on this "Rising Riddim" set have a high level of quality, so definitely check it out!