Rising Sun Riddim
Chimney Records
Digital Release
November 11, 2013

Track list
  1. Demarco - It's Not Right
  2. Kibaki & Singing Sweet - One More Day
  3. Bramma - Wah Gwaan Mi Darling
  4. Tessane Chin - Anything's Possible
  5. Chronixx & Kabaka Pyramid - Mi Alright
  6. Zagga - My Destination
  7. I Octane - We Found Love
  8. Tarrus Riley - My Day
  9. Chris Martin - Yes I Can
  10. Kelissa - Slow Down
  11. Jah Cure - Better Way
  12. Chimney Records - Rising Sun Riddim
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4/5
Chimney Records was formed in 2002 by two youngsters, Jordan McClure and David "Hizzle" Hayle. The two have been friends since preparatory school and both share the same passion and enthusiasm for first classical piano and later on dancehall music. Dancehall artist Delly Ranx helped them in the initial stages of their career. Before they started building and producing their own riddims and records, they produced riddims such as 'Cherry Tree', 'Gangsta Prayer', 'Troublemaker' and 'Soul Seeker' for Delly Ranx and 'Carrot Oil' for DJ Smurf. Since 2010 the label has being creating waves in the dancehall/reggae community with superb one riddim releases such as 'Island Vibes', 'Sex Appeal', the well received 'Retweet', 'Brazilian Wax', 'Ole Creep' and 'Soul Seeka', to name but a few.

Their latest effort sees them in a more relaxed and mellow mood. The 'Rising Sun' riddim is a mid-tempo, guitar driven, one drop riddim, with a subtle nyabinghi flavor to it. Very nice! The usual artists deliver their goods in fine style here. We must admit that we can't point out weak tunes here, so we'll pick out some of our favorite tunes. Very nice and comforting is Mi Alright by the combination Chronixx & Kabaka Pyramid. The latter artist is one of the strongest up and coming artists of the last years. Jah Cure's typical vocal delivery is perfectly suited for the riddim, while Tarrus Riley proofs with My Day that he's one of the leading reggae artists of this moment. Chris Martin, who signed to VP Records this year, puts out a solid tune with Yes I Can, and Tessane Chin, sister of Tamy Chin, does a very pop orientated version of the riddim with Anything's Possible. Well worth checking out more than once is It's Not Right, a social commentary tune by Demarco.

Nice riddim and strong selection of tunes!