Various artists album review
Raggamuffin Hip Hop 2
Lion Of Zion
March 31 - 2003

Tracking list

  1. Never Let You Go (Zionic Remix) - Sherwin Gardner, featuring Redcloud & Faulkner
  2. Same Riddim - Richie Righteous
  3. Babylon System (Remix) - Youth Exodus, featuring Christafari & Priesthood
  4. One For Me (I Need Your Love In My Life) - Christafari, featuring Redcould, Faulkner, & Isaac Blackman
  5. Jesus - Richie Righteous
  6. Anywhere We Go - Tiko & Gitta
  7. God Is - Shiselon, featuring Tiko & Sherwin Gardner
  8. All Day Long - Sherwin Gardner, featuring The Love Circle, Christafari, & Shiselon
  9. Das A Vibe - Monty G, featuring Lion's Pride & Shiselon
  10. El Gibbor (a.k.a. "I Am") - Spiritual Ninja & Shiselon
  11. Him Nah Believe Seh - Dunamis, Yankee B, & Richie Righteous
  12. Try God - Blood Brotherz, featuring Macho Ortega
  13. Jesus Christ Be For Us - Monty G, featuring L.B.C.
  14. Rudiments - Tiko & Gitta, featuring Shiselon
  15. Gimme Some Peace - Jah Pickney
  16. No One Else (Urban Remix) - Youth Exodus, featuring Priesthood
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4

Christafari aka Mohr is responsable for the compilation set Raggamuffin Hip Hop 2, the follow up to the first volume in the Raggamuffin Hip Hop series. Here you will hear American hip-hop beats collide with religious Jamaican reality lyrics and island rhythms performed by today’s top Gospel reggae artists. As dancehall continues to grow in global popularity through artists such as Shaggy and Sean Paul, the Lion of Zion crew has created a positive alternative to the world’s sounds—without compromising the quality of beats and skillful flow-masters. It's jam-packed with 16 tracks from artists hailing from all over the U.S. and throughout the Caribbean. With powerful raps and clever dancehall toasting over unique Jam-erican beats, these vocalists demonstrate both their lung control over hyped, hard hitting rhythms and their flow on soothing urban grooves. Standout tracks include God Is.. by Shiselon, Same Riddim and Jesus, both brought by Richie Righteous and Blood Brotherz who deliver Try God.
With this (and all his other releases) Christafari tries to reach out to the youths of today, and letting them know that there exists a positive alternative to the popular secular raggamuffin hip hop songs that have hit the top of the Billboard charts with their lewd and sexually explicit lyrics. Furthermore he wants the youths to understand that the word of God has no barriers, it can be heard anywhere and anytime in every language, style and fashion.
A positive vibration from the Lion of Zion camp !

Teacher & Mr. T.