Rocky Rocky Road
Jah Freedom Recording
February 11, 2006

Track list
  1. Just A Little Love - Luciano
  2. I Don't Wanna Break Your Heart - Mitch
  3. Reminisce - Mr. Peck
  4. Mama I Love You - Mona Lise ft. Andrea
  5. Heart's Desire - Culture Man
  6. Negative Action - Utan Green
  7. Rocky Rocky Road - Newton K
  8. Father Of Your Child - Lazer Matrix
  9. I'm Still In Love With You - Andrea
  10. Memories Don't Go Away - Swallow
  11. No Guarantee - Milton Blake
  12. Inside Out - Mikey General
  13. Love Jah - Djani
  14. Have A Little Bit Of Faith - Ashaki
  15. Things Are Not The Same - Ambassada
  16. I Don't Wanna Break Your Heart - Mitch
  17. Rocky Rocky Road Dubwise - Bongo Herman
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3
'Rocky Rocky Road' is the first album release out of the Jah Freedom Recording camp. The company, conceived in the summer of 1996, is the long time dream of Steve Weinstein. After travelling to Jamaica many times, and falling in love with Jamaica and Reggae Music, Steve decided to somehow get involved in the reggae music business. His close friend and extremely talented recording engineer, Paul 'Sly' Francis suggested that without musical skills, the best way to get involved was to build a Dubplate Studio. Steve took the challenge and with lots of determination, limited resources, and some connections in Philadelphia's Jamaican Reggae community, began Jah Freedom Recording. Jah Freedom has been built around a 62 year old Presto Record Cutting Lathe. Piece by piece, dubplate by dubplate. Artiste by artiste, and sound by sound, Jah Freedom Recording has come to be. In the summer of 1999 Steve began putting together a music production facility. With the remnants of Travellers Studio in West Philadelphia, and the expertise of Paul Sly Francis, Jah Freedom Productions was built. The biggest challenge over the years has been finding talented reggae artistes, musicians, and engineers in the Philly area. The dream has always been to move to Jamaica and make Jah Freedom Western Jamaica's premier recording facility. The dream is became reality as Jah Freedom moved to Negril in the first quarter of 2003.
The cultural song Rocky Rocky Road by Newton K. is the foundation for this orginal riddim, an infective and solid one-drop riddim, voiced by some well known reggae artists as well as promising newcomers. First there's the 'MessenJah' aka Luciano who opens the album with the excellent tune Just A Little Love. His long time friend Mikey General shows up with a surprising love tune, dedicated to his 'empress'. Utan Green contributes a nice tune here, Negative Action, a painfull broken-love song. Former ARP member Mitch does his thing on Don't Wanna Break Your Heart. Newcomers include Swallow, a crooner with a smoothe voice, coming from the Negril area whose vocal delivery reminds us of Mikey Spice. The deejay Amabassada still has a lot to learn but his song Things Are Not the Same is a nice effort. Then there is Djani, a talented rastaman from Westmoreland, who is blessed with a refreshing vocal and his song makes a good impression.
Check it out !