Rock N' Sway
Digital Release
September 18, 2011

Track list
  1. Sizzla - Best Thing In Life
  2. Jesse Royal - Talk To Me
  3. Kayla Bliss - Rock N' Sway
  4. Bunny Brown - Don't Bother Trouble
  5. Spanner Banner - Master Of The Game
  6. Snatcha Spice - Ego
  7. DYCR - Google
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4
After the recently (digitally) released "Royalty", "Long Days Short Nights" and "Danger In Your Face" riddims. Phillip 'Fatis' Burrell's Xterminator label comes up with the next 'one riddim' compilation entitled "Rock N' Sway". The line-up for this brand new digital collection of tunes features the meanwhile usual suspects Sizzla, Jesse Royal and Kayla Bliss, and furthermore has the names of dub poet DYCR, veteran singer Bunny Brown, and the Bonner brothers, Spanner Banner and Snatcha Spice, on the list.

It is common for Jamaican producers to revisit classic riddims, and also Phillip 'Fatis' Burrell has dug up classic riddims to relick them including John Holt's "Stealing" (Mikey General's "Babylon Cake"), Leroy Smart's "Ballistic affair" (Luciano's "Jonah"), Ernest Wilson's "I Know Myself" (Sizzla's "Greedy Joe"), and Larry Marshall's "Mean Girl" (Cocoa Tea''s "Mr. Neck Tie Man"), to name only four. For this "Rock N' Sway" riddim, 'Fatis' Burrell and his indomitable team of musicians which include drummer Sly Dunbar, bassist Donald Dennis, guitarist Earl 'Chinna' Smith, and saxophonist Dean Fraser, have revitalized Studio One's classic "General" riddim, known by Studio One connoisseurs from tunes like The Heptones' "Love Me Girl" and Freddie McGregor's "Little Girl".

Under the watchful guidance of 'Fatis' Burrell, Sizzla has released many big hit tunes. Whether also "Best Thing In Life" will manage to gain hit status is uncertain, but all in all this lovers piece leaves a solid impression. With previous releases on the Xterminator label, newcomer Jesse Royal has unmistakably proven to be an artists to watch for in the near future. The sufferer's piece "Talk To Me" is another decent tune from this talented singer. Kayla Bliss' matching cut tells us about back in the days, when you could "Rock N' Sway" to the rub-a-dub sounds on the radio and in the dance halls. Bunny Brown -- former lead singer of the famous ska, rocksteady, and reggae group, The Chosen Few, and founding member of JAVAA (Jamaica Association of Vintage Artistes & Affiliates) -- fully displays his velvet voice on the great "Don't Bother Trouble". Both, Spanner Banner and his brother Snatcha Spice, deliver nice cuts on the riddim, but they're nothing special. Then DYCR's "Google", a great tune with lyrics that make you laugh.

Most likely this "Rock N' Sway" riddim set won't blow you away, but there's enough niceness to make this compilation worth checking!