Various artists album review
Roots Connection
Dubwise Productions
24 - 01 - 2000

Tracking list

  1. Junior Murvin - Leopard
  2. Dub Mix
  3. Danny Vibes Featuring Jobe - Nah Give Up
  4. Give Them Dub
  5. Winston Fergus - Ganjah Defenders
  6. Pressure Dub
  7. Where Are All The Warriors ?
  8. Winston Fergus - Rough Times
  9. Rough Version
  10. Danny Vibes - Revelation Time
  11. Millennium Dub
  12. Winston Fergus - Praise H.I.M.
  13. Danny Vibes - Fight The Wicked Man
  14. Wicked Dub
  15. Can't Take No More
  16. Junior Murvin - Wise Man
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3/4

At the beginning of a new millennium Roots lovers can capture great contemporary UK Roots vocals and dub on the well varied compilation set "Roots Connection", which is released by London-based 'Dubwise Productions'. This set not only features songs from renown Junior "Police & Thieves" Murvin, UK veteran singer Winston Fergus and the very talented young lion Danny Vibes, but also brings together the mixing skills of UK producers from the fields of Roots, Reggae and Dub : Dougie 'Conscious Sounds' Wardrop, Russ 'Boomshakalacka' Disciple, Gussie P, and Lee Digidub.
The first track, "Leopard", finds the legendary falsetto singer Junior Murvin in good shape and confirms the good reputation he has build throughout his enduring career. With this cut, and also "Wise Man" - recorded at Native Studios in Port Antonio, Jamaica, and remixed by Gussie P in London with multi-instrumentalist Hughie Isaachar on guitar and Martha on backing vocals - Junior Murvin not only showcases that time has not impaired his unique voice but also proves that he's still capable of delivering solid roots tunes. Danny Vibes makes his debut with the three songs featured on this compilation set. With these efforts the 18 year old singer succeeds in making a strong impression, thus confirming that he is truly regarded London's youth roots sensation. Winston Fergus, who started his career in the mid-seventies and sometimes sounds like a young Gregory Isaacs, contributes three solid tracks. "Ganjah Defenders" an herb anthem, delivering a skillful plea for the use of ganja, is well worth listening to. The awesome "Rough Times" is a Roots killer, which comes complete with a wicked dub version, recorded and mixed by Dougie Wardrop. Winston Fergus' cultural piece "Praise Him" is a truly decent effort delivered across a laidback roots riddim - reminiscent of production work of Augustus Pablo - which suits his voice very well.
This fine release from 'Dubwise Production' provides an accessible UK Roots sound regarding the vocal efforts as well as the dubs, which makes "Roots Connection" a very enjoyable and entertaining set. So, do check out !!.

Teacher & Mr. T.