Various artists album review
Roots 'N' Culture ~ 21 Mighty Reggae Cuts
Music Collection

Tracking list

  1. Mighty Diamonds - Right Time
  2. Big Youth - Train To Rhodesia
  3. Peter Tosh - Legalize It
  4. Johnny Clarke - Rockers Time Now
  5. Culture - International Herb
  6. Twinkle Brothers - Never Get Burn
  7. Gregory Isaacs - Universal Tribulation
  8. Abyssinians - Jah Loves
  9. Prince Far I - Message From The King Featuring Joseph Hill
  10. Gladiators - Soul Rebel
  11. Big Youth - House Of Dreadlocks
  12. Twinkle Brothers - Free Africa
  13. Sly Dunbar / Tamlins - Sun Is Shining
  14. Johnny Clarke - Roots, Natty Roots, Natty Congo
  15. Culture - Behold
  16. Johnny Clarke - Declaration Of Rights
  17. Gladiators - Looks Is Deceiving
  18. Delroy Washington - Freedom Fighters
  19. Twinkle Brothers - Since I Threw The Comb Away
  20. Mighty Diamonds - Africa
  21. Linton Kwesi Johnson - It Dread Inna Inglan (For George Lindo)
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4/5 Production : 4 Sound quality : 4/5 Sleeve : 5

After the music of Bob Marley & The Wailers also reached notable success by a rock-oriented audience in the mid-seventies certain U.K.-based labels attempted to follow the policy of Chris Blackwell's Island Records, the label that signed "third world's" first superstar. Richard Branson's Virgin Records was the other progressive rock record company that started to invest in Jamaican music. They licensed material from some of the main producers in that specific period - "Joe Joe" Hookim, Bunny "Striker" Lee and Prince Tony Robinson - and released it on their subsidiary label "Frontline". Thus excellent music from artists like the Mighty Diamonds, Peter Tosh, Johnny Clarke, Gregory Isaacs, U Roy and the Gladiators was brought to a wide audience in the second half of the seventies.
Now the "Music Collection" label has gathered some of the best "roots 'n' culture" tunes and put it on this essential compilation set. One glance at the tracklisting of this twenty-one track collection should prove enough of a reminder for those who forgot just how much groundbreaking reggae music was released on Virgin's "Frontline" label.

Teacher & Mr. T.