Various artists album review
Roots With Quality ~ Best Of Tabou1 Scroll 2
Tabou1-Walboomers Music

Tracking list

  1. Freddy McGregor - Give Jah The Glory
  2. Paul Elliott - Nuh Table Talk
  3. Flamengo - Vibes Pour Les Sages
  4. U Roy, Dennis Brown & Cheb Aissa - Half 3 The Hard Way
  5. Sly & Robbie and Ambelique - Worker Man
  6. Sly Dunbar - Hot You're Hot
  7. Third World - Keep Forgetting
  8. Errol Dunkley - OK Fred
  9. Johnny Moore & Skully - Turn Your Lamp
  10. Mighty Diamonds - Beware Ethiopians (Nyah Version)
  11. Patrick Davis - Victim
  12. Daweh Congo - Drums
  13. Michael Rose - Hot Stick
  14. Gladiators - Talking Blues (Live)
  15. Black Uhuru - Sensimilia (Live)
  16. Garnett Silk - Adventage (Live)
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4/5 Production : 4 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 3/4

"Roots With Quality ~ Best Of Tabou1 Scroll 2" is a very useful and handy collection of tunes released by the French Tabou 1 label. In the past two years the label has issued some fine albums such as 'Hail Up Taxi 2', 'Satta Dub', 'X Uhuru', 'Freedom & Liberation', 'Ruff Cutt In Roots, 'Last Days', Dub Fi Junjo', 'Garnett Silk Live' and 'Hit Sounds From Channel One'.
This sampler offers a pleasant mixture of dancehall tunes, contemporary roots tracks, French reggae and vintage recordings. Furthermore the album contains nuff previously unreleased recordings, such as Paul Elliot's awesome tune Nuh Table Talk, Turn Your Lamp a swinging ska tune by Johnny Moore and Skully, Patrick Davis' Victim, a roots reggae tune across Bob Marley's 'Natural Mystic' riddim and Hot Stick by Michael Rose.
Drawn from the crucial album Ruff Cutt In Roots are two excellent tunes : Freddie McGregor's Give Jah The Glory and The Mighty Diamonds with Beware Ethiopians. From U Roy's strong album 'Serious Matter' comes Half 3 The Hard Way. Errol Dunkley's OK Fred is featured here in a version of his hit tune which was produced earlier in 2000 by TABOU1. It was recorded at Leggo studio, mixed by Bravo, and features Flabba Holt on bass, Derrick Stewart on drums, Cat Coore on guitar, Keith Sterling on percussion, Johnny Moore on trumpet, Calvin Cameron on trombone and Jeffrey Brown on sax Tabou1's upcoming U Roy album, entitled "Now, will feature a different and not extended version of "OK Fred", with Flabba Holt sharing lead vocals with Errol Dunkley. The album ends with three live recordings. Talking Blues you will find on the Gladiator's album 'Back To Roots', Sensimilia comes from 'Live 84' and Garnett Silk's Advantage is drawn from 'Live At Reggae Sunsplash'.
A noteworthy Tabou 1 sampler !

Teacher & Mr. T.