Various artists album review
Roots With Quality ~ Best Of Tabou1 Vol. 1
Tabou1/Walboomers Music

Tracking list

  1. Pablo Moses - Ready, Aim, Fire
  2. Michael Rose - Sailer Gone A Sea
  3. Bunny Rugs - I Know Who I Am
  4. Yami Bolo - Worldwide Corruption
  5. Bernard Collins & The Abyssinians - Young Wings
  6. Andru Branch & The Wailers - Keep Trodding Along
  7. Cat Coore - Uptown Rebel
  8. Beenie Man - Foundation
  9. Red Rat, Buccaneer, Goofy & Phoebe - Doing Our Thang
  10. Bounty Killer - Fed Up
  11. U Brown - Weather Balloon
  12. Revolutionaries - Weather Balloon Dub
  13. Roots Radics - Blind Rodent Attack
  14. Pablo Moses - Sister Dub
  15. Abyssinians - Mandela Version
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4/5 Production : 4 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 3/4

'Roots With Quality ~ Best Of Tabou1 Vol. 1' is a handy collection of tunes from the French Tabou1 label. In the past two years the label has issued some fine albums such as 'Hail Up Taxi 2', 'Satta Dub', 'X Uhuru', 'Freedom & Liberation' and 'Hit Sounds From Channel One'.
This sampler offers a mixture of dancehall tunes, contemporary roots tracks, dub cuts and vintage recordings. Drawn from the crucial album U Brown - Hit Sounds From Channel One comes Weather Balloon and the dub cut from the Revolutionaries Weather Balloon Dub. More dub fi dub tracks are Pablo Moses' Sister Dub and the essential Abyssinians cut Mandela Version taken from the Satta Dub set.
Roots vocalist Yami Bolo delivers the wailing Worldwide Corruption from his album 'Freedom & Liberation', Third World member Cat Coore is featured here with the title track -Up Town Rebel- of his 1997 album. Strictly dancehall style are the tracks of Bounty Killer and Beenie Man. Doing Our Thang is taken from the excellent Ruff Cutt Djbonanza .
There are also some previously unreleased tracks on the album. Michael Rose, in combination with Sly & Robbie, comes on strong with Sailor Gone A Sea, and Bunny Rugs delivers my peronal favorite track of the album I Know Who I Am a track from his forthcoming album "Now' album.
Great set !

Teacher & Mr. T.