Various artists album review
Rootical Vibrations
Victory World-Walboomers Music
29 - 04 - 2001

Tracking list

  1. Trinity - Cruising
  2. Rod Taylor - Weeping And Wailing
  3. Afrikan Simba - Impostor
  4. Prince Alla - Stop Your Crying
  5. U Brown - No Wicked Can't Reign
  6. Earl 16 - Evolution
  7. Hughie Izachaar - Can't Take The Pressure
  8. Dillinger - No Racial War
  9. Tony Roots - Ease Off
  10. Alton Ellis - Here I Stay
  11. Tena Stelin - Be Joyful
  12. Peter Broggs - I Put My Trust In Jah
  13. Anthony Johnson - Africa
  14. Horace Andy - Wash That Woman
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4

Jah Warrior Records' collaboration with Victory World Records of Chicago has resulted in the release of the album 'Rootical Vibrations'. The album is the second release on the newly established label and features some 14 exclusive mixes, a combination of alternative cuts of Jah Warrior classics and brand new unreleased material, all of them produced by producer/musician Steve "Jah Warrior" Mosco, who clearly has an innate feel for contemporary roots & culture music.
The artists on the album are true greats of reggae music like Jamaicans Alton Ellis, Horace Andy, Peter Broggs and U Brown, along with new stars like Nigerian MC Afrikan Simba and UK based Tony Roots. Deejay's Trinity, Dillinger and U Brown are featured here with extremely strong tracks, U Brown's No Wicked Can't Reign being the absolute killer track of the album. Roots veteran Rod Taylor delivers an impressive 'wailing' tune, and the Nigerian MC Afrikan Simba makes a solid impression with Impostor. He's one of the leading MC's in London, having worked with sound systems such as Jah Shaka, Sir Coxsone and Aba Shanti. Prince Alla is a fine roots singer whose contribution to this album - Stop Your Crying - comes from his latest album 'Glory'. From Peter Broggs you will find here I Put My Trust In Jah. Peter Broggs is known as a singer and songwriter who finds his inspiration in his love for Jah Rastafari. This is a particular strong song and happens to be one of my favorite tracks of the album. The song can also be found on his album 'Jah Golden Throne'. Tena Stelin is one of the longest established singers on the UK new roots scene. His performance on Be Joyful is as solid as one would expect. Nowadays residing in London the honourable Alton Ellis was one of Jamaica's most popular performers especially in the sixties and seventies. He's truly one of the living legends in Jamaican music who has been making great tunes for nearly four decades, from the heydays of ska, rocksteady and reggae up till now. One would not expect him to appear on an album like this, but his outing - Here I Stay - proves that he's still one of the finest vocalists in the business.
'Rootical Vibrations' is a perfect showcase for Steve Mosco's heavyweight roots productions.

Teacher & Mr. T.