Various artists album review
Reggae Platynum 2002 + Renaissance Mix Tape Vol. 4
J & D Records-Walboomers Music
18 - 07 - 2002

Tracking list - Disc 1

  1. Qshan Dia - Love
  2. Ababa - Yaba Guide (Jah Guide)
  3. Turbulence - Finally Free
  4. Dennis Brown, Beres Hammond & Freddie McGregor - We All Are One
  5. Richie Spice - Monday Morning
  6. Glen Washington - Oh What A Feeling
  7. Rekha - Too Close
  8. Bounty Killer - Thought I Told You
  9. Sean Paul - Give Me The Light
  10. Elephant Man - Somebody Looking
  11. Wayne Marshall - Top Dat
Tracking list - Disc 2
  1. Dr. Dre - Intro
  2. Wayne Marshal - Renaissance Special
  3. Frisco Kid - Turn It Up
  4. Assassin & Sugar Slick - Renaissance Special
  5. Devonte - Sweet Symphony
  6. Sean Paul - Junkin Punny
  7. Buju Banton - All Over Me
  8. Wayne Wonder & So Ki Ru - How We Roll
  9. Bounty Killer - Fire With Fire
  10. Elephant Man - Somebody Looking
  11. Ninja Man - Same Sound
  12. Sean Paul - Renaissance Special
  13. Sean Paul - Give Me The Light
  14. Mr. Easy - Don't Test Me
  15. Rekha - Too Close
  16. Elephant Man - Haters Wanna War
  17. Bling Dawg - Renaissance Special
  18. Wayne Marshall - Top Dat
  19. Elephant Man - Which One
  20. Bounty Killer - Thought I Told You
  21. Dr. Dre - Outro
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 3/4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4

The latest installment in the annual "Reggae Platynum" series collects eleven full length tracks of contemporary reggae and dancehall music featuring the production work of producers such as Kent Bryan & Derick Moo-Young (J&D Records), Dane Moo-Young & Fabian Francis (Weeded Records), Troyton & Daddy Reds (Black Shadow), Stephen Gibson (Gibbo Records), Bobby Konders (Massive B) and veteran Ossie Hibbert.
Disc one opens with "culture reggae" delivered by namebrand artists like Glen Washington and the all-star combination Dennis Brown, Beres Hammond & Freddie McGregor alongside up-and-coming artists Qshan Dia, Turbulence and Richie Spice. Among these six tracks no real standout tune. Only Turbulence's "Finally Free" and Richie Spice's "Monday Morning", both performed over the same riddim, and also Glen Washington's Oh What A Feeling" - not the Gregory Isaacs song!! - are above par efforts, but the other are rather mediocre deliveries. Qshan Dia, whose vocal style is strongly reminiscent of Luciano, delivers a nice ballad, however this tune doesn't keep you involved till the very end. Ababa, a roots singer who originates from Trinidad, contributes "Yaba Guide (Jah Guide)", a song taken from his 1999 released debut album "Roots & Culture". Then this track failed to make a serious impression and again it doesn't come better. Dennis Brown, Beres Hammond & Freddie McGregor in "combination stylee" seems a winner but unfortunately their "We All Are One" doesn't live up to expectations. Fans of dancehall music are treated to far better efforts on this compilation set. Sean Paul's "Give Me The Light" across the "Buzz" riddim is a killer tune. Also across the Buzz comes "Too Close", a decent effort delivered by a promising female singer called Rekha. Bounty Killer and Wayne Marshall have solid cuts over the same riddim and also Elephant Man's "Somebody Looking" for Massive B's "Dun Dem" riddim is worth of hearing. As usual in this "Reggae Platynum" series disc two brings nuff dancehall exciment by means of the Renaissance Mix Tape Vol. 4, expertly put together by one of Jamaica's leading sound systems, Renaissance. In fact, this juggling affair is the most entertaining disc of this package as it includes nuff wicked tunes alongside some exclusive Renaissance specials!!

Teacher & Mr. T.