Various artists album review
Riddim Rider Vol. 3 ~ Live On
Jet Star
26 - 07 - 2002

Tracking list

  1. Children Of Selassie - Morgan Heritage
  2. Capleton & Luciano - Never Want The Youth Dem Die
  3. L.M.S. - Before You Hungry
  4. Turbulence - Nuh Go
  5. Mark Wonder - Give Thanks
  6. Prestige - No Love
  7. Mikey General - Save My Soul
  8. Gentleman & Daddy Rings - River Jordan
  9. Pinchers - Never Hurt Her
  10. Jah Thunder - Squad 51
  11. Paul Elliott - Nuclear Bomb
  12. Josie Mel - Fly Away
  13. Jimmy Riley - Woman Love
  14. D.Y.C.R - Righteous
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4

Morris Johnsson, aka Big Jack Scorpio, is a Jamaican sound-system owner and record producer, who earned fame with his releases which began to hit the streets in the second half of the eighties. Out of his studio, located in Hagley Park Road, Maverley, came hits such as 'She's Mine' by Barrington Levy and Capleton's 'Cold Blood Murder' and numerous other hit tunes by household names like Mega Banton, Bouty Killer, Beenie Man and Chaka Demus. In more recent times, Big Jack Scorpio has releashed several successful productions, all of them being live played riddims, in contrast with the more digital and programmed music which has flooded the reggae market for so many years. The result is a fresh and crisp sound.
His latest outings are across a riddim called "Live On". As usual a lot of the tracks found here have been released as singles earlier. Morgan Heritage's tune Children Of Selassie is a stirring song, the tune Never Want The Youths Dem Die (aka Hail King Selassie) captures two giants of contemporary reggae music - Capleton and Luciano - at the peak of their heights, the result being an appealing song, which they wrote in protest after several innocent youths were gunned down by Kingston police. Then there's Mikey General with the holy lament called Save My Soul. The combination Gentleman (subject of a recent television documentary) and Daddy Rings delivers an incredible awesome song called River Jordan, and the same goes for Paul Elliott's "Nuclear Bomb" and Mark Wonder's "Give Thanks". Furthermore one is treated to notable cuts from up-and-coming talents like Prestige, Turbulence, Jah Thunder and new dub poet DYCR.
"Live On" is a great roots album !

Teacher & Mr. T.