Various artists album review
Reggae Rhythms Of Love Volume 1
Artists Only ! Records
08 - 07 - 2000

Tracking list

  1. Gregory Isaacs - Lead Me
  2. Sanchez - Missing You
  3. Leroy Sibbles - I Need Your Love
  4. Mikey Spice - When Your Lonely
  5. Sanchez - Wherever I Lay My Hat
  6. Spanner Banner - Love Will Save The Day
  7. Jack Radics - Moving Away
  8. Cocoa Tea & Shabba Ranks - Love Me Truly
  9. Nadine Sutherland - I'm In Love
  10. Cocoa Tea - I'm Not A King
  11. Richie Stephens - Ebony Eyes
  12. Gregory Isaacs - Danger In Your Eyes
  13. Frankie Paul - All I Need
  14. Wayne Wonder - Time To Say Goodbye
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 4/5 Sleeve : 3/4

Robert Dixon, better known as Bobby 'Digital' Dixon, got his nickname because his arrival at King Jammys coincided with the rise of Steelie and Clevie's computerised riddim tracks in 1985. He rapidly learned dub-cutting, voicing and mixing under King Jammy's tuition. Very soon he was to play a pivotal role in the running of the studio and recorded extensively with artists like Sanchez, Cocoa Tea, Shabba Ranks, Chaka Demus, Admiral Bailey and many more. Three years later he formed his own 'Heat Wave' sound sytem, build his own studio and set up his Digital B label. Since then he has become one of Jamaica's leading producers, with top albums by Garnett Silk, Pinchers, Glen Ricks, Sanchez, Admiral Tibet, Shabba Ranks, Dirtsman, Morgan Heritage and Leroy Smart. He is specialised in recreating classics from the past and has released numerous one (or two) riddim albums. With his credentials as a fellow ghetto youth made good, an extensive array of gifted artists and a burgeoning reputation with a wider audience after his work with international acts, Bobby Digital is well situated to stay a leading producer well for many years to come.
'Reggae Rhythms Of Love Volume 1' is a tasty compilation of lovers tunes produced by Bobby Digital. The tracks were recorded in the nineties and showcase once more the qualities of the producer. Featured here are some of the most romantic vocalists in the world of reggae music such as Sanchez, nicknamed the 'King Of Covers', reggae veteran Gregory 'Cool Ruler' Isaacs, Cocoa Tea, Frankie Paul and Richie Stephens. On this album Bobby Digital picks out the best riddims from the past and reworks them in his own incomparable manner. The Studio One classic 'Undying Love' - one of my favorite riddims - is performed here by Leroy Sibbles, Nadine Sutherland and Spanner Banner. Wayne Wonder's "Time To Say Goodbye" and Jack Radics' "Moving Away" are across Ken Boothe's 'Moving Away' riddim. One of the smoothest tunes on the album is Richie Stephens' reworking of the Rick James/Smokey Robinson classic soul hit "Ebony Eyes". Although Cocoa Tea is best known for his roots tunes he also knows how to put out a solid lovers tune - check out his rendition of Delroy Wilson's I'm Not A King !
What more can I say ? If you're not into ragga, dancehall and "roots 'n' culture" check out this new Artists Only ! release, and you'll find yourself with your lady, and a glass of wine on a stormy night, spinning this album 'till morning comes.

Teacher & Mr. T.