Roots Rock Reggae Showcase Vol. 1
Kingston 5 Productions
Digital Release
July 23, 2012

Track list
  1. Satellite - Where Is The Love
  2. Patrick Andy - Away With Your Poverty
  3. Dane Spice - It's Working Time
  4. Junior Vibes - Say You Want Me
  5. Pad Anthony - She Gone
  6. Super Blacks - Good Old Days
  7. Edi Fitzroy - Too Much Gun Shots
  8. Little John - Ready Fi Done Dem Again
  9. Fyah Spring - Universal Love
  10. Emanuel Stain - Under His Wings
  11. Texas Ranger - Words Of My Mouth
  12. Vibes Matrixxx - Bring Back The Love
  13. Showcase Rub A Dub
  14. Showcase Instrumental
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 3/4 Backing : 4 Production : 3/4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3
It was towards the end of the year 2000 that the "You Don't Care" riddim, laid by Tommy McCook & The Supersonics and made famous by The Techniques in 1968, was renovated by producer Bobby 'Digital' Dixon of Kingston-based quality record labels Digital-B and Brickwall, and featured the hit tunes "Grab Yuh Lass" by Mikey Spice & Louie Culture and "What We Need Is Love" by Morgan Heritage. In the spring of 2012 a relick of the original riddim was released by Joe Fraser Records with voicings by artists like Gappy Ranks, Courtney John, Lloyd Brown, and Stevie Face.

And now, a few months later, Kingston 5 Productions' digitally released 'one riddim' set "Roots Rock Reggae Showcase Vol. 1" brings us another batch of tunes on the "You Don't Care" riddim, which stays very close to Bobby Digital's version from 2000 (it even could be the same riddim track). Twelve artists, veterans as well as newcomers, are gathered here for their individual renditions of the riddim. Furthermore the listener is treated to two different Versions at the end of this collection.

Garnett Silk sound-alike Satellite, who attracted some attention with his 1995 single "Tribute To Garnett Silk" on Black Scorpio's "Friends For Life" riddim, gets things started with the solid "Where Is The Love". The latter is followed by the matching "Away With Your Poverty" by veteran Patrick Andy, a singer who had his finest moments in the mid-80s. Then it's time for Dan Spice and Junior Vibes (also the producer of this set together with Dullord Thompson), who unfortunately fail to make a serious impression as their cuts are rather mediocre efforts. Pad Anthony, another veteran who voiced the riddim, submits a fine lovers tune worth hearing.

The aforementioned five tracks illustrate what one can expect from the rest of this collection. Solid tunes are alternated by lesser songs, which ultimately turns this album into something of a mixed bag.