Various artists album review
Roots! Rockers! Reggae! Vol. 1

Tracking list

  1. Errol Dunkley - O.K. Fred
  2. Desmond Dekker - Sing A Little Song
  3. Barry Biggs - Work All Day
  4. Boris Gardiner - Eighteen Yellow Roses
  5. In Crowd - Back A Yard
  6. The Slickers - Johnny Too Bad
  7. Max Romeo - Thank You Lord
  8. Doreen Schaffer - I Cried A Tear
  9. The Heptones - Do You Really Want To Hurt Me
  10. Fil Callender - Island Music
  11. Barry Biggs - Three Ring Circus
  12. The Pioneers - Rock My Soul
  13. John Holt - Smiling Faces
  14. John Holt - I Want To Wake Up With You
  15. Beres Hammond & Mikey Zapow - Sunshine People
  16. Boris Gardiner - Elizabethan Reggae
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 3/4 Backing : 3/4 Production : 3 Sound quality : 3/4 Sleeve : 3

This CD gathers all types of reggae music from the seventies up to the early nineties. Whether it is roots reggae music, lovers rock or pop-oriented reggae, it's all part of this varied compilation set. Some of the finest hit tunes delivered by well known artists from Jamaica and the U.K. are included here, but besides that some probably lesser known songs are represented as well. Amongst the tracks you'll find much sought after tunes like The Slickers' Johnny Too Bad, In Crowd's Back A Yard and Fil Callendar's Island Music. Furthermore there are also some fine cover versions of songs done by artists like Max Romeo and The Pioneers. Not every tune is a winner and the sound quality is not all it could be on some tracks, but there's enough to enjoy which makes this a nice compilation set after all.

Teacher & Mr. T.