Various artists album review
Roots! Rockers! Reggae! Vol. 2

Tracking list

  1. Sophia George - Girlie Girlie
  2. Cynthia Schloss - Happy Anniversary
  3. Paula - Dynamic
  4. Barry Biggs - Wide Awake in A Dream
  5. Pluto Shervington - Dat
  6. Desmond Dekker - Busted Lad
  7. Dawn Penn - The First Cut Is The Deepest
  8. Winjama - Place In The Sun
  9. Marcia Griffiths - I Don't Need Your Love
  10. In Crowd - Slave Ship
  11. Gregory Isaacs - Uptown Sharon
  12. Delroy Wilson - When She Was My Girl
  13. Eric Donaldson - Land Of My Birth
  14. Bruce Ruffin - Mad About You
  15. Ken Boothe - You're No Good
  16. Johnny Clarke - No Woman, No Cry
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 3/4 Backing : 3/4 Production : 3 Sound quality : 3/4 Sleeve : 3

This CD gathers all types of reggae music from the seventies up to the early nineties. Whether it is roots reggae music, lovers rock, ska, pop-oriented reggae and dancehall, it's all part of this varied compilation set. Some of the finest hit tunes delivered by well known artists from Jamaica and the U.K. are included here, but besides that lesser known songs and artists are represented as well. Amongst the tracks are some much sought after tunes like the In Crowd's Slave Ship. Furthermore you'll also find some updated versions of songs done by the original artists themselves like e.g. Dawn Penn's The First Cut Deep Is The Deepest who delivers a solid combination tune with an uncredited dancehall deejay. Not every tune is a winner and the sound quality is not all it could be on some tracks, but there's truly enough to enjoy which makes this a decent compilation set after all.

Teacher & Mr. T.