Various artists album review
Ruff Kut Reggae Mix
Shanachie - Munich
31 - 12 - 2000

Tracking list

  1. Spragga Benz - Big #@%*& Gal
  2. Lexxus - Number One Gal
  3. General Degree - Dry Cough
  4. Chrissy D & General Degree - Niceness Time
  5. Bounty Killer - Tear Dem World Apart
  6. Elephant Man - Fassy Satallite
  7. Spragga Benz - Elum
  8. T.O.K. - Bad Anthem
  9. Bounty Killer - Letter To The Leaders
  10. Beenie Man - Damn
  11. Lady Saw - Straight Wuk
  12. Alozade - Freaky
  13. Lexxus - L.O.Y.
  14. Monster Shack - Crazy
  15. Ras Moses (aka Beenie Man) & Ricky Rudy - Circumstances
  16. Mr. Vegas - Girls Time
  17. Hawkeye - Yuh Nuh Beg
  18. Beenie Man & Mr. Vegas - Bad Man Nuh Flee
  19. Round Head - Call Me
  20. Sean Paul - Fit And Legit
  21. Capleton - Run The Place
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3

With the release of "Ruff Kut Reggae Mix" US based record label Shanachie delivers its first contemporary juggling set, gracing 21 dancehall cuts flawless mixed together by DJ Yonnie & Sherman Escoffery. The line-up includes the usual and well known artists and also riddimwize no real surprises around, although one probably doesn't expect to find the rootsy "Mr. Bassie" riddim for Capleton's excellent, almost full length cut entitled "Run The Place" among the featured hardcore dancehall riddims.
After the "Ruff Kut" intro there's pure dancehall fever caused by the extremely infectious "Dry Cough" riddim courtesy of "Size 8 Music" from artist/producer Cardiff Butt aka Daddy Teddy aka General Degree. Three guarenteed dancefloor fillers from Spragga Benz, Lexxus and General Degree himself are followed by more dancehall niceness from the "Size 8 Music" stable. General Degree, now in combination with Chrissy D., kicks off on the "Rattlesnake" riddim before Bounty Killer and Elephant Man come to deliver their deadly goods. Then once again Spragga Benz for Richard "Shams" Browne's wicked "Intercourse" riddim, which also features nice versions by T.O.K. and Beenie Man, but the real killer tune can be credited to Bounty Killer whose "Letter To The Leaders" hits really hard on those who want to keep the poor poorer and the rich richer. The Richard Myrie produced "Nightmare" riddim takes over, and although Lexxus' "L.O.Y." is a nice effort the riddim itself is the weakest of them all. The next riddim that loads is another brainchild of Richard "Shams" Browne, the young producer who has taken his place in the forefront of ragga/dancehall music. Best effort is delivered by Ras Moses & Ricky Rudy, with the other versions being not far behind. The dancefloor gets packed again when the "Sail Away" riddim is climbing out of the speakers. expertly ridden by the combination Beenie Man & Mr. Vegas, Round Head and Sean Paul.
Many of the tunes featured on this CD may already have found their way to the dancehall fans, so this one is recommended for those who want to purchase an entertaining juggling set.

Teacher & Mr. T.