Various artists album review
Run The Riddim Selector Vol. 2
Jet Star
13 - 06 - 2001

Tracking list

  1. Bob Andy - There Is A God
  2. Vivian Jones - What If
  3. Peter Hunnigale - Two Of Us
  4. Don Campbell - Wheel It Again
  5. Ambelique - Agony
  6. Phoebe One - Feel Good Factor
  7. Rasites - Jah Never Fail I
  8. Lloyd Brown - Fill Me In
  9. Dee Ellington - Rise To Feel The Thrill
  10. Vivian Jones - Dustbin material
  11. Zion Daughters - Black Star Liner
  12. Bob Andy - Teachers
  13. Alpha Rowen - New Teacher
  14. Ambelique - Come Together
  15. Phoebe One - Players
  16. Don Campbell - Let Them Talk
  17. Rasites - New World Disorder
  18. Alpha Rowen - Shot A Bark
  19. Lloyd Brown - Put It Down
  20. Dee Ellington - Trow Wey De Gun
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3

The compilation set "Run The Riddim Selector Vol. 2" is the follow up to last year's "Run De Riddim Selector". Just as volume 1 it's a Danny Ray produced two-riddim album, featuring some of UK's and Jamaica's finest artists. The album comes from Jet Star's Cave Production team, featuring engineer Fitzroy "Wizard" Blake and musicians like Mafia & Fluxy, Carlton Ogilvie and Dalton Browne. Over the past two years the Cave productions have seen a growth in quality and this album is just as great as the first volume!
The two riddims featured here are "Thunder" (a reggae flavoured version of Craig Davis' "Fill Me In" riddim) and "Weedacome" (a reworking of Peter Tosh's "Legalise It"), both melodic and well sounding riddims laid down by Mafia & Fluxy, Clifton 'Bigga' Morrison and Carlton 'Bubblers' Ogilvie. Ten tracks for each riddim and the artists here include up-and-coming talents such as The Rasites, Phoebe One, Dee Ellington and Alpha Rowen (formerly known as Rolex) but also household names like Vivian Jones, Bob Andy, Ambelique and Lloyd Brown. The shimmering, rub-a-dub backdrop has made the "Thunder" riddim one of the most popular riddims in the UK and Lloyd Brown's lick "Fill Me In" has topped the UK charts. We are very pleased to see that one of our all-time favorite singers, Bob Andy, is featured here with two excellent tunes : the impassioned assertion "There Is A God" and "Teachers". "New World Disorder" and "Jah Never Fail I" are truly impressive cuts by newcomers Rasites. The same goes for Alpha Rowen with "Shot A Bark" and "New Teacher". Also outstanding and well worth spinning are Ambelique's best-ever tune "Come Together", Dee Ellington's "Rise To The Thrill", Lloyd Brown's "Put It Down" and Peter Hunnigale's soulful delivery "Two Of Us", which is tight beyond belief. However, every track on this compilation set has its own merits and matches the high quality standard of the aforementioned tunes.
This album is an exquisite two-riddim set, expertly produced by Danny Ray.

Teacher & Mr. T.