Various artists album review
Run The Rhythm Selector
Jet Star
04 - 12 - 2000

Tracking list

  1. New Sheriff In Town - Ambelique
  2. Believe In Love - Peter Hunnigale
  3. I Wish I Could - Don Campbell
  4. Knocking On Heaven's Door - Phoebe One
  5. Love Must Conquer - Freddie McGregor
  6. Gimme More Love - Vivian Jones
  7. Survivor - Antonio
  8. Girl - El Feco
  9. Love Yourself - Phoebe One
  10. This Time - Vivian Jones
  11. Rise - Don Campbell
  12. Never - Peter Hunnigale
  13. Bluer Than Blue - Ambelique
  14. Good Old Days - Antonio
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3

The album 'Run The Rhythm Selector' is a Danny Ray produced two-riddim album, featuring some of UK's and Jamaica's finest artists. The album comes from Jet Star's Cave Production team, featuring musicians like Mafia & Fluxy, Carlton Ogilivie and Dalton Browne. The Cave productions have seen a growth in quality this year and we think it's only fair to say that Danny Ray has done a fantastic job on this one!
The two riddims featured here are 'Mr. Fix It', a popular riddim nowadays. This 1969 vintage Studio One cut from Winston Francis is also used by artist/producer Beresford Hammond on tunes for his Harmony House label. The other riddim is called 'Eye Water' and uses the melody line of Bob Dylan's 'Knocking On Heaven's Door'.
The general feeling on the album is melodic, relaxed and the emphasis is on the lovers side of reggae. Good examples are Peter Hunnigale's solid Believe In Love, Ambelique's outstanding tune New Sheriff In Town and Vivian Jones with This Time. On the other hand roots fans will find some strong roots tunes here as well: Freddie McGregor's excellent Love Must Conquer and Antonio with Survivor. Up-and-coming female vocalist Phoebe One contributes two tunes : Knocking On Heaven's Door and Love Yourself. These two tunes are our favorite tracks on the album because of her sultry vocal qualities, and she even throws in some rap influences.
A consistent album!

Teacher & Mr. T.