Various artists album review
Greensleeves Reggae Sampler 21

Tracking list

  1. Capleton - Who Dem
  2. Mr. Vegas - Tiger Bone
  3. Ward 21 - Shake It
  4. Buju Banton - What Is To Be
  5. Lexxus - Monkeys Out
  6. Bounty Killer - What Have I Done?
  7. Beenie Man - Heights Of Great Men
  8. Red Rat - Little Miss Buffett
  9. Fargo Voice - U.C. Voice
  10. Sizzla - The Vision
  11. Mr. Vegas - Itsy Bitsy
  12. Luciano - Jah Is My Only
  13. Red Rat - Bad Boy
  14. Hawkeye - Money Making Guy
  15. Chrissy D & Degree - I've Been Waiting
  16. Capleton - Bun Dun Dreadie
  17. Bushman - Love Of The Heart
  18. Ward 21 - Y2K Stylee
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4

Greensleeves Records have released the 21st volume in their acclaimed "Reggae Sampler" series, a great new selection from the current Greensleeves catalogue which is up to par with the previous releases. Besides already released singles this album includes tracks from forthcoming albums from Ward 21, Red Rat, Sizzla, Mr. Vegas and Bushman.
Featuring such true name brand artists as Capleton, Beenie Man, Bounty Killer, Sizzla and Mr. Vegas and the in demand newcomers Lexxus and Ward 21, this set stands for maximum listening pleasure and entertainment. The Dancehall side includes two wicked cuts over the "Bellyas" riddim (Capleton's "Who Dem" and Beenie Man's "Heights Of Great Men"), and also two entertaining tunes utilizing the Virus" riddim ("Monkeys Out" by Lexxus and Mr. Vegas' "Itsy Bitsy"). Furthermore two enjoyable efforts over the "Family" riddim : Fargo Voice's "U.C. Fargo" and Red Rat's Bad Boy". Young producer Richard "Shams" Browne contributes Red Rat's "Little Miss Buffett", a great piece over the hotter than hot "Orgasm" riddim. "Tiger Bone" showcases Mr. Vegas riding the "Razor Blade" riddim for Goofy's Youngblood Productions, while Bounty Killer delivers a top notch performance on the excellent "What Have I Done?" across Pot Of Gold's "Problem" riddim. Another tune coming from Richie Stephens "Pot Of Gold" productions is Hawkeye's awesome cut "Money Making Guy", in which he expertly rides the "Busta" riddim.
On the roots side some excellent new tunes can be found on this sampler too. With "What Is To Be" Buju Banton delivers a strong effort for Syl Gordon's "321 Strong Productions". Sizzla is in fine form on "The Vision", a great tune that is taken from his forthcoming "Xterminator" produced album. Luciano makes a solid impression with an appealing tune for Richie Stephens' "Pot Of Gold" imprint, which fully showcases that Richie Stephens is also capable of producing fine roots music.
The main ingredients of this compilation set - popular Dancehall tunes, the freshest and hottest riddims and a sprinkling of singers/deejays - make this sampler a top value package, well worth checking out for everyone who wants to sample the contemporary flavours.

Teacher & Mr. T.