Various artists album review
Riddim Driven Vol. 13 ~ Scare Crow
VP Records - Walboomers Music
08 - 10 - 2001

Tracking list

  1. Bounty Killer - Yapping
  2. Spragga Benz - Cuchi Daddy
  3. Ward 21 - Da Pum
  4. Tanto Metro & Devonte - Love Da Style
  5. Mr. Lexx - We Dat
  6. Merciless - War Life
  7. Wayne Wonder feat. Surprize - What
  8. Sean Paul - Naah Stop
  9. Wayne Marshall - My Girl
  10. Lady Saw - Bad Man Gal
  11. Elephant Man - Never Plan Fi Dis
  12. Galaxy P & Ward 21 - Scare Crow
  13. Frisco Kid - Right Now
  14. Vybz Kartel - Da Rolling
  15. Anthony Cruz - Here For You
  16. Ward 21 - For Da Ladies Again
  17. Anthony B - Driving
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4

With Lloyd "King Jammy" James himself and associated producers like John John, Jam II, Trevor "Baby G" James and Ward 21 in charge, Jammy's famous Waterhouse Studio located at 38 St. Lucia Road, Kingston 11, Jamaica WI, is presently the place to be for both the big-time supes and the fresh talents from JA's Dancehall scene. The hit riddims keep on coming and the hottest versions rule the dancehalls on the Island and abroad. One of the most recent riddims coming from King Jammy's recording studio is the "Scare Crow", which was produced by Trevor "Baby G" James. With seventeen cuts over the "Scare Crow" riddim - created by King Jammy and Baby G - VP Records' dancehall oriented "Riddim Driven" series presents a fresher than fresher bashment selection headed by Rodney Price aka Bounty Killer. The Poor People's Governor delivers a solid effort "Yapping" over a booming riddim track, which is followed by Spragga Benz's awesome "Cuchi Daddy". Three contributions of Ward 21, the much anticipated outfit that can be regarded as the driving force behind King Jammy's big return on the dancehall scene. Featured are two solo cuts - "Da Pum" and "For Da Ladies Again" - and the combination tune with Galaxy P entitled "Scare Crow", the latter actually being the best out of three. When it comes to combination tracks one is treated to two more solid efforts: first there's "Love Da Style" from the incredibly popular dancehall duo Tanto Metro & Devonte and then Wayne Wonder's "What", once again presenting the fine dancehall singer in combination with his deejay alter ego Surprize. Returning to the deejay parade one finds notable cuts by Sean Paul, Merciless, Elephant Man and Frisco Kid. Also well worth checking out is "Here For You" by one of the few vocal representatives featured on this set, Anthony Cruz (a relative of the late Garnett Silk).

Teacher & Mr. T.