See Mi Yah Remixes
Various / Rhythm & Sound
Burial Mix - Indigo
June 30, 2006

Track list
  1. See Mi Version (Basic Reshape) - Rhythm & Sound
  2. Free For All (Soundstream Remix) - w/ Paul St. Hilaire
  3. Let We Go (Villalobos Remix) - w/ Ras Donovan & Ras Perez
  4. Poor People Must Work (Carl Craig Remix) - w/ Bobbo Shanti
  5. Boss Man (Tiki's Pure Blue Remix) - w/ Walda Gabriel
  6. Let Jah Love Come (Sweet Substance Remix) - w/ Sugar Minott
  7. Lightning Storm (Francois K. Remix) - w/ Rod Of Iron
  8. Truly (Vladislav Delay Remix) - w/ Freddy Mellow
  9. Rise & Praise (Vainqueur Remix) - w/ Koki
  10. Dem Never Know (Sleeparchive Remix) - w/ Jah Cotton
  11. See Mi Yah (Hallucinator Remix) - w/ Willi Williams
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4 Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3/4
After their beautiful "Rhythm & Sound: w/ The Artists" and "Rhythm & Sound: The Version" albums in 2003, Berlin dub-techno duo Moritz Von Oswald and Mark Ernestus a.k.a. Rhythm & Sound, about who more can be read, like on their other Basic Channel-labels, in the article Rhythm & Sound...Jamaican hallucinations in stripped-down slowmotion would almost have been forced to produce a next reggae album by public and critical demand. Luckily that's what they wanted themselves as well, and the resulting one-riddim album "See Mi Yah" was absolutely stunning, using a riddim that is as much rooted in their technodub works as Maurizio's "MCD/M-Series", Basic Channel's "BCD" and "Round One To Round Five" as it was in their more dub-reggae oriented work with Paul 'Tikiman' St. Hilaire like "Showcase w/ Rhythm & Sound" and the two Rhythm & Sound albums mentioned above. And now they come full-circle with this project, Moritz von Oswald and Mark Ernestus who after all stem from a club music background have brought together several generations of DJs and producers, as the tracks from "See Mi Yah" are remixed by collaborators of long standing such as DJ legend Carl Craig to promising newcomers. The remix-version of the album (which has also seen a previous release, this time in the form of a series of four 12"-singles between February and May this year) transplants the 'strictly roots'-approach of the originals into the club, with a minimal dub reworking by Basic Reshape of Moritz Von Oswald and Mark Ernestus a.k.a. Rhythm & Sound's own excellent "See Mi Version", before its switching to 4-to-the-floor-dancebeats for the "Free For All (Soundstream Remix)" with only snatches of hardly recognizable Paul St. Hilaire vocals. The "Let We Go (Villalobos Remix)" of the Ras Donovan & Ras Perez tune is an absolutely stunning 10:35 minutes tour de force that keeps it minimal, yet has the listener completely spellbound as the original vocals are kept intact and upfront in the mix. Top Detroit techno producer Carl Craig doesn't tamper with Berlin-Jamaican Bobbo Shanti's Candyman-like vocal gimmick starting "Poor People Must Work (Carl Craig Remix)" but soon after takes complete control of the riddim for a brilliant minimal-techno-dub fusion, followed by the much more like traditional dub sounding "Boss Man (Tiki's Pure Blue Remix)" with Walda Gabriel's vocal's in true reggae dub style swaying in and out of the mix echoing and dubbed up. The "Let Jah Love Come (Sweet Substance Remix)" is an excellent dubdance approach to the 'See Mi Yah'-riddim, on which luckily Sugar Minott's smooth vocals are on top for the full length of the tune, followed by the "Lightning Storm (Francois K. Remix)" that (despite) going into breakbeat drum'n'bass mode and leaving out for long breaks in the tune the spiritual hypnosis invoked by Lance 'Rod Of Iron' Clarke still maintains in capturing that mood. The "Truly (Vladislav Delay Remix)" of Freddy Mellow's original has Finnish electronic musician Sasu 'Vladislav Delay' Ripatti add a subsonic hoover-bass and drum'n'bass-like hi-hats as a perfect backing for Freddy's smooth vocals. The "Rise & Praise (Vainqueur Remix)" by one of the earliest 'discoveries' of Mark Ernestus and Moritz von Oswald, Rene Lwe a.k.a. Vainqueur, is a characteristic example of the brilliant early Basic Channel / Chain Reaction minimal dub techno soundscapes that Rhythm & Sound themselves have become as famous for, followed by newcomer Sleeparchive's "Dem Never Know (Sleeparchive Remix)" of the Jah Cotton tune clearly showing how the Basic Channel / Chain Reaction / Rhythm & Sound approach has influenced him, yet showing his own style of experimental techno. The last tune on this absolutely magnificent remix album is the "See Mi Yah (Hallucinator Remix) of Willi Williams' opener of the original one-riddim album, by yet another long-time Rhythm & Sound affiliate on which again there's a surprising symbiose between the dance and reggae approach to close an 11 tunes in over 74(!) minutes aural trip that is a must have for any serious experiment loving reggae, roots and dub listener as well as for everyone who acquired the original "See Mi Yah" album.