Various artists album review
Selector's Choice
Jamdown Records
01 - 08 - 1998

Tracking list

  1. Captain Barkey - Girl's town
  2. Powerman - Baby
  3. Delly Ranks - Badmind
  4. Chuck Fender - Love Fi Si Me
  5. Alley Cat - Up town, down town
  6. Sizzla - Purified woman
  7. Determine - Zion hill
  8. Terror Fabulous, louie Culture, & King Che Che - Dem fi know
  9. General B - Excuse me
  10. Terrical - 9 to 5
  11. Mega Banton - Mi love yuh style
  12. Delly Ranks - Pose
  13. Powerman - Ain't no fun
  14. Captain Barkey - Go deh my girl
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 3/4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 3/4

"Selector's Choice" is a compilation set of songs and artists produced by Syl Gordon for his own 321 Strong Productions, which - although it is subtitled "dancehall & culture" - mainly focusses on the dancehall side of his production work. The album kicks off with a version excursion which includes five cuts across the same hardcore "Gridlock" riddim laid by Sly Dunbar & Steve "Lenky" Marsden. After this relentless dancehall assault the mood turns to the cultural part. "Purified woman" was one of the first singles that marked the end of Exterminator's exclusive hold on Sizzla. Making use of Culture's "Natty never get weary" riddim he delivers a nice tune in which he praises women for more than good "working" and hot bodies, infusing a much-needed positive message about women into the music scene. Determine skillfully delivers a solid performance with one of his best songs to date, a wicked cut full of culture. The riddim laid by Sly & Lenky and the lyrics are both great. Dancehall mainstays Terror Fabulous and Louie Culture link up with newcomer King Che Che for what happens to be a solid effort on an appealing riddim. General B's screechy singjay style is reminiscent of Beenie Man, but this Monster Shack Crew member does enough to keep from being labeled a clone. His contribution showcases him in real good shape utilizing the "Peppersauce" riddim to its fullest, thus delivering a decent dancehall tune. The rather unknown deejay Terrical seemingly effortless voices up a fast-paced riddim, but unfortunaly gets to repetitive in his lyrics. Mega Banton, Delly Ranks, Powerman and Captain Barkey, all riding the "Poss Belly" riddim laid by the Firehouse Crew, round off this album in style i.e. "inna deadly dancehall stylee".

Teacher & Mr. T.