Various artists album review
Trojan Ska Box Set ~ Limited Edition
Triple CD box set
27 - 10 - 1998

Tracking list

    Disc 1
  1. Lord Tanamo - I'm In The Mood For Ska
  2. Owen & Leon Silveras - Next Door Neighbour
  3. Baba Brooks Band - Watermelon Man
  4. Tommy McCook & The Skatalites - Silver Dollar
  5. Lee Perry & The Soulettes - Doctor Dick
  6. Stranger & Patsy - Miss Know It All
  7. When I Call Your Name - Rebel Dance
  8. Roland Alphonso - Blackberry Brandy
  9. Lloyd & Glen - Jezebel
  10. Carl Dawkins - Baby I Love You
  11. The Paragons - Happy Go Lucky Girl
  12. Derrick Morgan - No Raise No Praise
  13. Justin Hinds & The Dominoes - Carry Go Bring Come
  14. Alton Ellis & The Flames - Blessings Of Love
  15. Chuck & Dobby - I Don't Need Your Love
  16. Lord Brynner - Congo War
  17. Don Drummond - Don D Lion
   Disc 2
  1. Stranger Cole - Rough & Tough
  2. The Ethiopians - Free Man
  3. Eric Morris - Strongman Sampson
  4. Drumbago's Orchestra - Duck Soup
  5. The Rulers - Wrong Embryo
  6. Johnny 'Dizzy' Moore - Sudden Destruction
  7. The Tartans - What Can I Say
  8. The Techniques - I'm So In Love With You
  9. Desmond Dekker - 007 (Shanty Town)
  10. Owen & Leon Silveras - Want Me Cock
  11. Lord Tanamo - Iron Bar
  12. Jimmy Cliff - Miss Jamaica
  13. Owen Grey - Jezebel
  14. Roland Alphonso - Phoenix City
  15. Baba Brooks & His Band - One Eyed Giant
  16. Lee Perry - Rub & Squeeze
  17. Don Drummond - Let George Do It
    Disc 3
  1. Justin Hinds & The Dominoes - Over The River
  2. Eric Morris - If I Didn't Love You
  3. The Paragons - The Tide Is High
  4. The Skatalites - Guns Of Navarone
  5. Derrick Morgan - Blazing Fire
  6. Tommy McCook & The Skatalites - Doctor Zhivago
  7. The Spanistonians - Rudie Gets Plenty
  8. The Ethiopians - Train To Skaville
  9. Clive & Naomi - Open The Door
  10. Frank Anderson - Musical Storeroom
  11. The Valentines - Blam Blam Forever
  12. Clancy Eccles - Sammy No Dead
  13. Lyn Taits & The Comets - Storm Warning
  14. Alton Ellis & The Flames - Girl I've Got A Date
  15. Granville Williams Orchestra - The Third Man Theme
  16. Winston & George - Denham Town
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 3/4 Backing : 4/5 Production : 4 Sound quality : 3 Sleeve : 3/4

Throughout the 50s by far the most popular music among Jamaican audiences was the hard hitting New Orleans style of R & B, as performed by artists such as Smiley Lewis, Roy Brown and Fats Domino. As a result of a number of events -the popularity of the jukebox, the switch to more polished sounds, and direct import of singles from the US- the soundsystems started creating the music themselves. Duke Reid and Coxsone Dodd turned their hands to producing home-grown talent, emphasizing the back beat. The music evolved from Jamaican Boogie (or Blues Beat) into Ska. Until the blistering spring of 1966 the island rocked to the driving riddims of Ska. During that summer the tempo of ska decreased and the music transmutated into an entirely new genre called Rocksteady.
This box set contains 50 tracks -not all of them ska tunes !-, and present some of the highlights of the genre such as Lord Tanamo's ska anthem I'm In The Mood For Ska, The Skatalites' all time classic Guns Of Navarone, Derrick Morgan's Blazing Fire, Train To Skaville and Free Man by the Ethiopians, the much versioned Sammy No Dead by Clancy Eccles, Miss Jamaica by a young Jimmy Cliff, Justin Hinds' Carry Go Bring Come, Roland Alphonso's immortal Phoenix City and Desmond Dekker's 007 Shanty Town.
Next to these well known tunes the collection comprises lesser known outings by Justin Hinds -Over The River, the humorous Open The Door by Clive & Naomi, the Leslie Kong produced pre-rocksteady tune Rudie Gets Plenty, One Eyed Giant by Baba Brooks and the jazzy Blackberry Brandy performed by Roland Alphonso.
The 50 recordings on this set provide a fine overview of the ska years and will ensure that the popularity of ska remains on the ascendant for many years to come.

Teacher & Mr. T.