Books Of Slaving Part 2
Digital Release
October 28, 2012

Heartical & BDF Presents: Books of Slaving Part 1 & 2 - Various Artists Track list
Digital album:
  1. Lloyd Parks - Slaving
  2. Lloyd Parks & Joseph Cotton - Mental Slavery
  3. Sylford Walker - Chant Down Babylon
  4. Sylford Walker & Papa Kojak - Babylon Falling
  5. Papa Kojak - Reality Song
  6. Nello B - So Jah Say
  7. Zareb - Heart Of Mankind
  8. Tampanaeh - Poor People's Cry
  9. Rootsamala - Keep Up The Faith
  10. Little Guerrier - I-Life
  11. Original Uman - Prédateurs
  12. General Levy - Rub A Dub Session
  13. BDF - Slave Of Dub
  14. BDF - South East London Skank
7" Singles:
  • Lloyd Parks - "Slaving" / Lloyd Parks & Joseph Cotton - "Mental Slavery"
  • Sylford Walker & Papa Kojak - "Babylon Kingdom Fall" / Nello B - "So Jah Say"
  • Zareb - "Heart Of Mankind" / Rootsamala - "Keep Up The Faith"
  • General Levy - "Rub A Dub Session" / BDF - "South East London Skank”
Rate this album!
Cast your vote below.

Essential -Votes: 0-
Very Good -Votes: 1-
Good -Votes: 2-
Average -Votes: 0-
Disappointing -Votes: 0-
A Waste Of Time -Votes: 0-

Total votes : 3
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4 Backing : 5 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3
After the recent release of the compilation set "Heartical Story Vol. 2", Paris based Heartical Records continues its release programme with another beauty out of the vintage riddim box. This time it's BDF's relick of Lloyd Parks' "Slaving" riddim (originally produced by riddim master Glen Brown and released on the Shalimar label in 1973) with a sound that is warm, enveloping and heavy as lead. Ethereal keyboards beautifully float in and out the mix, which gives the riddim an even greater appeal. This set follows up "Slaving" from 2005, which featured 9 vocal cuts from veterans such as Mykal Rose, U Brown, Lone Ranger, Al Campbell, Little Roy, and Carlton Livingston.

It's a joy to hear the great Lloyd Parks update his own classic song to full effect. His striking and mournful vocal delivery conveys all the pain and sufferation of a life of poverty. Also the collaboration tune with veteran Jamaican deejay Joseph Cotton aka Jah Walton entitled "Mental Slavery" makes a great impression and is worth hearing. At the time the "Slaving" riddim has been used countless times on such classics as Glen Brown's "No More Slaving", Dillinger's "Working Day", Big Youth's "Hot Cross Bun", I-Roy's "Black Man Time" and Sylford Walker's "Chant Down Babylon". The latter is also revisited by the veteran singer in a solo cut which is followed by the wicked combination tune "Babylon Falling" with Papa Kojak, who is also granted a solo cut, the solid "Reality Song". Nello B, a lesser known Jamaican veteran now residing in Switzerland, delivers "So Jah Say" in a vocal style reminiscent of the late Dennis Brown.

Then the Jamaican reggae veterans make room for the younger generation to showcase their skills and talent. More than once Rootsamala, the Spanish brother and sister vocal duo from Malaga, has shown that they are able to come up with a real good tune and their conscious piece "Keep Up The Faith" is further proof of their potential. Although no newcomer, Zareb (previously known as Mr Flash) still has to establish himself as a force to reckon with. Here he comes up with "Heart Of Mankind", a tune that affirms that he's an artist who shouldn't be overlooked. It's surprising to hear General Levy's fast style delivery working quite well on this riddim.

Tampanaeh, a young rasta artist from the the great late Sugar Minott's Youth Promotion Camp, delivers the convincing "Poor People's Cry". He sings about the sufferation of his ghetto people from the Kingston 5 area. French Guyana based rasta singjay Little Guerrier has a distinctive vocal style which comes to full expression on "I Life". Original Uman from Belgium represents the Francophone reggae scene with "Prédateurs" (in English: "Predators"), shooting some proper lyrical bullets. "Books Of Slaving Part 2" is rounded off by BDF's "Slave Of Dub" and "South East London Skank", two tracks true roots fans don't want to miss.

If you love to hear decent vocal cuts on impeccable revitalized versions of classic riddims, you won't go wrong with this one!