Various artists album review
Soca Rumble In The Cave
Jet Star

Tracking list

  1. Frankie Paul - Kushung Peng
  2. Luciano - Rivers Of Babylon
  3. Simplicity - Wait In Vain
  4. Sha Sha - I Will Survive
  5. Ghost - Body Guard
  6. Don Campbell - Where Did I Go Wrong
  7. Winston Reedy & Demolition Man - Dim The Lights
  8. One Pac - Shake That Body
  9. Beenie Man - Million Gal
  10. Troublesome - Impress Me
  11. Sandra Melody - Gallop
  12. Red Dragon - Hot Gal
  13. Eugene Paul - Fairwell
  14. Sandra Melody - Happy Times
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3

"Soca Rumble In The Cave" represents a fresh and new approach of reggae and soca music as it combines soca riddims, reggae artists, reggae lyrics and soca artists. Producer Tony "Ruff Cutt" Philips presents here some fourteen tracks across 3 riddims all injected with an irresistible soca beat. Dancehall legend Frankie Paul does a soca version of his ganja anthem 'Puss The Tu Sheng Peng' as Kushung Peng, while the messenjah Luciano licks the Melodians' classic Rivers Of Babylon. There is no accounting for tastes, but the Bob Marley cover Wait In Vain isn't exactly to our liking, just as Sha Sha's lick of Gloria Gaynor's I Will Survive. On the other hand you should check out Ghost's tasteful version of Paul Simon's Body Guard and the combination Winston Reedy & Demolition Man with Dim The Lights. Further interesting tunes here are Beenie Man with Million Gal, Sandra Melody's infectious Gallop and Don Campbell's Where Did I Go Wrong.
'Soca Rumble In The Cave' is an interesting soca/reggae project from producer Tony "Ruff Cutt" Philips.

Teacher & Mr. T.