Solid Foundation
Irievibrations Records
CD / Digital Release
December 30, 2014

Track list
  1. Lutan Fyah - Wounded Lioness
  2. Denham Smith - Ordinary Man
  3. Konshens - The Journey
  4. Javada - Message To Somebody
  5. Delus - LaLaLa
  6. Luciano - Rub-A-Dub Market
  7. Anthony B feat. Konshens - Beat Dem Bad
  8. Raphael - Soundblaster
  9. Jahcoustix feat. Apple Gabriel - Controller
  10. Gappy Ranks - ICU
  11. Anthony B - Freedom Fighter
  12. Kabaka Pyramid - Cyaan Study Me
  13. Don Bonn - Slaves
  14. Junior Kelly - Mile In My Shoes
  15. Exco Levi - Reggae On Broadway
  16. Lion D - Reggae Party
  17. Nitty Kutchie feat. I-Octane - Can`t Suffer
  18. Delus - Mek Dem Sorry
Rate this album!
Cast your vote below.

Essential -Votes: 10-
Very Good -Votes: 1-
Good -Votes: 1-
Average -Votes: 0-
Disappointing -Votes: 0-
A Waste Of Time -Votes: 0-

Total votes : 12
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 5 Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 5
Five years after Irievibrations Records was founded, the production house and record label from Vienna, Austria, released their first compilation set entitled "Still One Drop", which featured 18 tracks recorded and produced since its foundation in 2004. Another five years later, the by now firmly established and internationally well-respected Irievibrations Records comes up with their second 18-track compilation called "Solid Foundation". With a decade of experience in the music business and over 80 releases of various international Reggae & Dancehall artists including big names such as Perfect Giddimani, Anthony B and Luciano, Irievibrations Records has become a trademark for genuine and modern sound, independent from major label structures, mind-sets and changing hypes.

Probably no other European production house has worked with such an impressive roster of artists than Irievibrations. This certainly says something about the quality of their production work, which never fails to impress. Whether it are artist albums such as Luciano's "Rub-A-Dub Market", Anthony B's "Freedom Fighter", Perfect Giddimani's "Born Dead With Life", Raphael's "Mind vs Heart" and Jahcoustix's "Frequency" or juggling sets like "Sweet Baby", "Village", "Jungle Skunk" and "Caribbean", all these projects carry a high standard. So it's no real surprise that "Solid Foundation" is stamped with class all over.

It's Lutan Fyah who fully shines on the impressive album opener "Wounded Lioness", a stellar song about Mother Earth delivered over an awesome slow-paced riddim track and with lyrics to match. It opens this collection in a great way!! Different mood and vibe comes with the solid lovers tune "Ordinary Man" from Cologne, Germany, based Jamaican singer Richard Alwin Smith aka Denham Smith. Konshens, one of the label's favourites, keeps it powerful with previously released single "The Journey", in which he speaks of the everyday hardships of life in pursuit of success. Up-and-coming Javada from Portmore, Jamaica, is part of Konshens' Subkonshus team. Here he shows nuff potential with the reality song "Message To Somebody". And also Delus, Konshens' brother, is present here, delivering the infectious herb song "LaLaLa" in fine style. What a great opening part... and it doesn't stop here!!!

The remaining part of this collection is headed by Luciano's still great sounding "Rub-A-Dub Market", with the Messenjah singing about the loss of spiritual awareness, roots and to much commercialization of rasta. Anthony B's collaboration with Konshens, the previously released single "Beat Dem Bad", goes into dancehall territory, but doesn't sound out of place here. Raphael's "Soundblaster" is an instantly ear-catching effort, while lyrically it deals with a negative shift that took place in the approach and outings of reggae music. It's followed by "Controller", Jahcoustix's collaboration with former Israel Vibration member Apple Gabriel, is a roots tune of sheer beauty. Gappy Ranks' "ICU" is a decent dancehall vibed bouncy tune, while Anthony B reappears with the solid title track of his "Freedom Fighter" album. One of the forerunners of the roots revival movement, Kabaka Pyramid, rides the "Jungle Skunk" riddim in fine style on "Cyaan Study Me", before Don Bonn - one of the foundation artists of the German reggae scene - drops the convincing "Slaves". Junior Kelly surprises with a furious sounding effort across a backdrop with a very strong northern soul vibe. Then one of our favourite artists, Exco Levi, comes up with the real nice sounding "Reggae On Broadway". The compilation is rounded off with three bonus tracks.

A great collection of tunes, not to be missed!