Songs Of Liberation Vol. 3
Addis Records
Digital Download
July 26, 2009

Firehouse Crew & Jil - Songs of Liberation, Vol. 3 Track list
  1. Anthony B - Faya Red
  2. Chezidek - Hold A Meditation
  3. Jah Mason - Be Wise
  4. Jil & Stuf - Redda Dub
  5. Natty King & Daddy Rings - Talk To Dem
  6. Freddie McGregor & Cali P - Thanks & Praises
  7. Jil & Firehouse Crew - Dub Rebel
  8. Iyashanti - Breaking Down The Barriers
  9. Mark Wonder & Turbulence - Movin On
  10. Jil & Stuf - Ackee Walk
Rate this album!
Cast your vote below.

Essential -Votes: 0-
Very Good -Votes: 3-
Good -Votes: 3-
Average -Votes: 0-
Disappointing -Votes: 0-
A Waste Of Time -Votes: 0-

Total votes : 6
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3
Addis Records is a small record company, based in Geneva, Switzerland. Last June they (digitally) released the album "Songs Of Liberation Vol.3", which happens to be a nice three riddim album.

The albums starts with Anthony B's lick of the 'Redda Dub' riddim. It's fine tune but not the best version of the riddim. Next comes Chezidek with his tune pon the same riddim. He puts out a more than average conscious tune. Rastafarian singjay Jah Mason gives us the third and best lick of the riddim. Check out Be Wise and you'll know why!

The album gives us two vocal cuts on the 'Dub Rebel' riddim. With Freddie McGregor on the case one can't go wrong. Cali P joins him on the praising tune Thanks & Praises. Natty King's tune - in combination with Daddy Rings - is equally strong, a very powerful effort!

The third riddim is called 'Ackee Walk'. It's a traditional slow paced, nyabinghi flavoured riddim. Iyashanti delivers a decent tune called Breaking Down The Barriers and the combination Mark Wonder & Turbulence is responsible for Movin On, a wailin' tune that is worthwhile spinning.

If you love traditional roots reggae you must check this one out!